Tuesday Toss-Up

Best Movies for the Kid in You

Leap Frong - Kids Playing At The Park Image by JefferyTurner (Jeff Turner)

If you have kid(s) in your life, you probably know that hanging out with them is the best excuse to act like a kid yourself. No, not the messy, tantrumy, “I’m telling Mom!” kinda kid stuff. The seeing the world with fresh eyes, playing dolls/legos, having an epic adventure in the backyard/living-room, acting goofy in public without shame kinda stuff.

And then there’s the kids movies. Even if you don’t have a kiddo to use as cover, there are some made-for-kids-beloved-by-grownups movies you just gotta see.

Here are some of my current favorites:

The Iron Giant (1999)

Kinda like an X-File for kids. Highly rewatchable.

***

Meet the Robinsons (2007)

A boy searching for himself and his place in the world. Wacky, hilarious and moving.

***

Up (2009)

This movie is unexpectedly deep and very moving. One of my family’s all-time favorites.

***

And you can’t forget the classics…

ET (1982)

Who can forget “ET phone home.” or the flying bikes? 

***

Mary Poppins (1964)

Just a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down…

***

What Are Your Favorite Kids’ Movies?

Photo Credit:
Leap Frong – Kids Playing At The Park Image by JefferyTurner (Jeff Turner) on Flickr CC BY 2.0

8 thoughts on “Best Movies for the Kid in You

  1. UP and E.T are definately two of my fav movies of all time. Both move me to tears in ways no other films do. I remember the first time I saw up I was in tears after the first few moments. And it’s the first time I remember growing emotional attachments to a house. As for E.T, my mission in life is to see that film without weeping – not succeeded yet!

    I’d also recommend a film called The Dark Crystal – it’s a Jim Henson movie that’s highly underrated, but really good for a Fantasy film.

  2. I’m thrilled when I can talk my boys into watching Labyrinth or the Princess Bride. I also love Megamind and Up, and Monsters vs. Aliens. I admit it. We don’t really watch adult TV in our house.

    Right now they’re on a Lord of the Rings/Pirates of the Caribbean roll, and that’s fine with me. 🙂 When I’m needing a little variety, I sneak in some of the others. They’re pretty tolerant!

  3. I used to love cartoons…the Walt Disney type cartoons (I’m with David in the prehistorical class :P). I loved having kids so I could go to Snow White and Cinderella and Jack in the Beanstalk with them when they were young. Then they got older and somehow magically knew everything, and Mom didn’t know much of anything. Of course, by that time, cartoons were “NOT cool.” Well, unless they were Pinky and the Brain, or MechanoMan.

    It didn’t take me long to throw caution to the wind and start going to cartoons by myself. I think I embarrassed my know-it-allers. *snicker*

  4. @Amy: Oh yeah. I totally agree. I love subtly in kids’ movies. It’s irritating when they make things too obvious. Kids are pretty smart. And adults don’t need to be beat over the head either (mostly LOL).

    @Tiffany: I can’t believe I forgot Goonies and The Last Unicorn. *hangs head in shame* 😀

    @David: I did love Cinderella too. I still have a soft spot for Gus.

    @Mark: Definitely one of those movies that doesn’t feel like a strictly kid movie.

    @Dan: Up gets me every time. It’s very powerful but not in an obvious, silly way. The Dark Crystal is awesome too!

    @Lara: Amen on all those. Sigh. It’s so hard to pick favorites because there are so many good ones. It’s like picking a favorite book. LOL

    @Sandra: My kiddos have gotten me hooked on a few different cartoons. Phineas& Ferb, Grossology (which I don’t think is on anymore), Ninjago. I love it when a kids’ show isn’t all spaz, flashing lights and rude jokes. Not that I mind a rude joke now and then. 😀

What's on your mind?

