What’s the Best Thing About Getting Older?

As I barrel towards my thirty-mmrmpth birthday, I realize that I appreciate getting older.

Birthday Candles

Okay, so there are wrinkles where there weren’t before (but, you know, just little ones), I almost always get called ma’am and rarely get carded when I wanna buy booze. So there’s that.

But with every year that goes by, I gain a larger sense of freedom to be who I am. Long gone is that adolescent sense that everyone is always watching me  and the worry that I’ll never quite fit in (whether I want to or not). And it’s not a “so what” or “screw the world” kind of attitude I’ve developed so much as a “life’s too short to not love me just as I am” attitude.

Life is too short. When we’re six and waiting for our birthday or summer or Christmas, the days seem creep by like a snail pulling a minivan but now we know they blow past us at a thousand miles an hour.

And none of us know how many of those days we have ahead of us.

Of course, it doesn’t take years to figure this stuff out and I’m probably a slow learner.

So, whatever birthday we last celebrated or are about to celebrate, be it the 5th or the 105th, let’s raise our glasses and toast ourselves, whoever we are and wherever we’re at. We may not be exactly who and where we want to be but the only way we can get there is to embrace ourselves as we are now.

Wrinkles and all.

Happy and safe birthday  by Stéfan (Stéfan) on Flickr

Psst…I’m turning 37.

There, I said it.

What do you think is the best thing about getting older?

Photo Credit (in order of appearance):
Birthday Candles by louderthanever Max! V on Flickr CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Happy and safe birthday by Stéfan (Stéfan) on Flickr CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Categories: Tuesday Toss-Up | Tags: , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “What’s the Best Thing About Getting Older?

  1. I have to agree – I turned 30 this year, and I’m so glad I don’t feel the need to deal with all that teenage fitting-in BS anymore.

  2. Knee jerk response when I read your post title, Sonia, was to respond, Nothing!

    On the deep end of 40, I am far more confident than I ever was at fresh new 30 or even tried and tattered 39. We’re not getting older, we are fermenting. Here’s to a delicate, balanced bouquet with full-bodied taste!

  3. The only age I ever had a problem with was 40…until the day I turned 40 and realized that I felt no different than I had the day before.

  4. Wisdom gained/earned! I think of my 20 something years and shake my head with sincere wonder as to how anyone could be so naive, uncertain, and bumbling. Getting a pile of years between me then, and me now, has been an amazing tonic. Late bloomer? Oh, yeah 😀

  5. Take heart, all of you. At 70, I still enjoy life, and I get to spend my time doing what I want to do instead of what is required by the necessity of bringing home that bacon. Besides that, I no longer feel like I have to stand when introduced to someone.

  6. Age 40 was a biggie for me. A nice biggie. I started doing what I really wanted to do with the rest of my life and enjoying who I have turned out to be. I’m not perfect, but I’m much more comfortable in my skin now. Enjoy your birthday! 37 is a lovely age to be, Sonia!

  7. I turn 57 in a couple of weeks. The senior discounts are nice… Seriously, for the first time Mary and I no longer feel like we’re the youngest people around. We can be among people our age and older and feel that we’re talking to our peers instead of “the grownups.” And it’s nice having the historical perspective, being able to remember what things were like fifty years ago, and how things have changed. I was never really good at history…

    Are you as amazed as I am that there seem to be so many people living well into their nineties these days?

  8. @Rebecca: It’s such a relief, isn’t it? I have to marvel at how much time I wasted as a kid worrying about that stuff. While I didn’t really try to fit in and I didn’t want to change, I hated that I wasn’t accepted for just me. Now I realize it’s not even worth thinking about.

    @Sherry: Fermenting! I love it. We’re like the best champagne. LOL

    @Mark: I hear ya. I don’t feel like 37. Sometimes I still feel 17…sometimes I feel 7 LOL

    @Barbara: Agreed. We learn so much over the years. I value that.

    @David: Awesome! I’m trying to gain some of that wisdom now. 🙂

    @Julie: Thanks! I totally agree with enjoying who we’ve turned out to be and doing what we really want to do.

    @John: An early Happy Birthday to you! I’m still working on feeling like I’m not talking to the grownups. 😀 I agree about historical perspective. I was talking to a group of teens not too long ago and was horrified to realize they had no feelings about the Berlin Wall coming down. Of course, there’s so much more history my mom lived through. Fortunately, she’s passed it down so thoroughly that I feel Vietnam, JFK, the moon landing etc in my bones. 🙂

What's on your mind?

Blog at WordPress.com.

