Tuesday Toss-Up

How Do You Waste Time?

dog on the computer
Just how many cat videos are there?

Every now and then, we all have to waste a little time(side note: the term “wasting time” makes me think of this). Maybe you need to unwind after a busy day. Maybe you need to unstick your brain. Or maybe you’re, you know, just plain procrastinating.  Whatever the reason, wasted time can be the best time.

And, of course….

If you enjoy the time you wasted and it leaves you feeling refreshed and all hopped up on creative juice, is it really a waste of time?

My current favorite ways to waste time:

  • Watching Phineas & Ferb with my kiddos. Yeah, it’s a kids’ show. So what. The storylines are actually kinda good. 
  • Surfing YouTube. This one I try to keep for when I have a lot of time to waste because one video leads to another which leads to another which leads to another…I have very little will power when it comes to related videos. Sigh.
  • Playing fetch with the dogs. Okay, only half-alien-chihuahua actually fetches. The husky puppy just steals the ball from his little big sister and runs off with it. Still, it’s endlessly amusing to watch them battle over the coveted red squeaky ball.
  • And, okay, yeah. I Can Has Cheezburger is still one of my very favorite wastes of time.

What are your favorite ways to waste time?

Photo Credit
Checking her Twitter by Susy Morris, on Flickr | CC BY-NC 2.0

20 thoughts on “How Do You Waste Time?

  1. Unfortunately, I waste way too much time playing Bejeweled Blitz on Facebook. But I’m usually watching TV while I do that, so I’m wasting time two ways at once! Talk about “multi-tasking.” Something tells me that’s not how that’s supposed to work.

  2. Wasting time lol I seem to be pretty good at that. I am terrible at sitting in my chair and just going back and forth surfing the web, going from facebook to twitter to Yahoo to my blog and not do anything or watching something when I feel that I should be writing or at least doing SOMETHING beneficial to building my network or something. So just like right now this is beneficial. I am surfing blogs and writing on them building my friendships with other writers like you with the hope that they will do the same for me. It’s good to communicate with other writers, build trust and friendships. Not only to have more friends but also to possibly be helpful when someone’s next book is released. Things like that. Anyhow this is a great topic. Thank you Sonia 🙂

  3. @Jeff: LOL. I love that. Multitasking time wasting. Awesome!

    @Haley: That was me with Lost. But I had to get through the series. You know, just because. LOL

    @John: I haven’t played Solitaire in a long time but I used to love it. Will have to try that out again.

    @Julie: I have a DVR almost bursting at the seams (I blame Tiffany White…she keeps getting me addicted to new shows :D). Lots of time wasting potential…I just have to make more time to waste.

    @Mike: LOL about the layer of dust. The one way I can’t waste time is video games…I’m just too prone to play until my eyes melt. *blush*

    @Jamie: Absolutely! Social media and blogs are building your network. So that’s not really wasting time or, at least, it’s wasting time well. 😀 I love connecting with other writers too. It’s been the best thing about digging in online.

  4. Playing Sims 3 and Words With Friends. I no longer consider my Sunday night fave TV shows a waste … they are so well-written I think of them as lessons in character and plot development : ).

  5. Hi, Sonia. I haven’t been by for a visit in a long time. *slaps hand* Sorry about that. The reason is the crazy hours I keep. *sigh* Usually, I don’t waste time – I just mentally collapse. I won’t bore you with the details, but there is an 11 hour day-job in there…and then Canadian Whiskey. 😉
    You take care, ok? *waves*

    -Jimmy

      1. Unfortunately I have yet to discover what to watch after you finish Phineas and Ferb and Gravity Falls. Rick and Morty definitely has the cartoon element down, but it lacks the whimsy.

What's on your mind?

