ROW80 Check Ins

A Steaming Cup of ROW

You ever have those days where there doesn’t seem to be enough coffee in the world to keep you on track?

Yeah, that’s pretty much been my week.

steaming cup of coffee
Need…more…coffee…soon…

Not that it’s been all bad. We’re getting back on track after our unfortunate car break in incident. I haven’t let too many things slip. But my motivation is severely dragging. Hopefully, I can pep up this week, but I’m keeping my plans light just in case.

You can see last week’s goals here.

Anywho, welcome to another ROW80* check in. Let’s see how it’s been going:

Writing

Last Week

Finished MN, though it’s going to need at least another reworking as it feels pretty rough still.

This Week

Rework TTG.

Cello

Last Week

My sound is coming along. I kind of feel like Dr. Frankenstein standing over his monster and crying out “It lives!” (note: I’m picturing Gene Wilder’s Dr. F here 😉 ) One can know, intellectually, that solid practice makes good progress, but it’s pretty stinkin’ thrilling when it actually happens. Even if that progress is not all that monumental in the grand scheme of things.

I feel like I’m able to sink more into playing my instrument. Not only is that healing but it’s better for my playing. I guess having a stressful event like a break in, has some positive side effects, at least in this case.

Hit all my practice hours. No days off.

This Week

Continue to work on straight bowing and steady, relaxed hands.

Giving myself two optional days off this week, as that seems to relax me and keep my motivation up.

Health

Last Week

4/5 workouts this week, but I upped the intensity.

This Week

I’m planning 3, but aiming for 4 workouts. I’ll be bringing up the intensity more (my ankle’s getting stronger) while probably shortening the duration.

Family

Last Week

We played Monopoly (Legend of Zelda version). I learned that my family is a bunch of cutthroat, dirty capitalist sharks…me included. We had a great time. My only complaint is that Monopoly is such a looooooong game, especially with my people. Sheesh. Maybe this week we play Rock Paper Scissors or something.

This Week

It’s looking like the vote is for another game night. There’s also been a request for microwave molten lava cakes, so I’ll have to dig out the recipe.

***

*ROW80, also known as a Round of Words in 80 Days, is an opportunity for us to set goals (for writing and/or other areas) and share them with a community ready to keep you accountable and cheer you on. If you’re interested in ROW80, you can find more info here and the latest check in post here.

Photo Credit
Coffee on a Winter’s morning by Stefan Lins, on Flickr | CC BY-NC 2.0

15 thoughts on “A Steaming Cup of ROW

  1. I know what you mean. Whenever I know I’m gonna be staying back at work for longer than usual, I always buy 2 cups of coffee at drive-thrus, rather than just 1. Would be like an emergency should I be short on my caffeine capacity. Keep keepin’ on, Sonia!

  2. Your family can’t be as cutthroat in their Monopoly playing as mine is. Ok, actually, it’s mostly me, but anyway, Monopoly was banished in my house many years ago. Enjoy these times while you have them !
    Have a great week and best wishes on your goals.

  3. Well I’m currently on vacation, but honestly this vacation also hasn’t been what I thought it would be. I feel very tired during most days, and even have trouble finding the right motivation for things. Still though…I try to keep positive, a drinking lot’s of coffee seems to help too (lol 😂) I hope the coming week will be better for you…keep trying to think of the positive things, it certainly helps 😀

  4. I’m not so sure what you’re writing about . . . but between a car break-in (yuck), missing coffee, and playing that cello as well as cutthroat Monopoly, there just might be a few words there. Sometimes writing warm-up pages can help us find our way back to story-telling. Hope to hear good progress next week . . . and thank YOU for visiting my pages.

  5. I can totally relate to days when there isn’t enough coffee! Sounds like you are doing a great job with your workouts. 🙂

    Game night is usually tons of fun! I don’t have kids- but my students would get to play games once a month as a reward and they loved it (Scrabble was a favorite). 🙂

What's on your mind?

