What Gets Your Pulse Pounding?

Hamster hiding under the bed.

I am NOT hiding under the bed. I’m…um…looking for dust bunnies.

With the smell of Halloween still in the air (that is chocolate on your hands, right?), it’s good time to ask you about the stories that thrill you the most.

Heart pounding. Heavy breathing. Laying awake at night, scenarios running through your head.

Be they action, thriller, disaster, suspense, horror or whatnot, which books, movies and/or tv shows get you going? Which ones would you read again and again and recommend to friends (or enemies)? Which ones do you dare not read again because they were that good?

Imaged Attribution (In Order of Appearance):
You can’t possibly see me hiding under the bed… by Ninithedreamer, on Flickr CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “What Gets Your Pulse Pounding?

  1. Wow! Blogging during NaNoWriMo? You’re my idol 🙂 As far as reading I’d say The Call of Cthulhu really got under my skin as well as some of the ghost stories of M. R. James. As far as movies go, I’d have to say Alien is the scariest I’ve seen.

    Oh, and break-a-leg NaNoWriMo wise 🙂

  2. The Stand by Stephen King scared me as a teen and maybe even more so now as an adult.

  3. @Tim: LOL. Yeah, I’m planning to do much shorter blogs and probably a lot of reblogging. I’m determined to get back on track with scheduling blogs ahead. Hoping NaNo will do that for you. The Cthulhu stuff is definitely creepy. And double yeah on Alien.

    @Emma: Stephen King definitely makes creepy magic. His characters just get deep under your skin.

  4. Anything epic in scale amazes, inspires, mesmerizes me. Anything by H.P. Lovecraft or The Night Lands (William Hope Hodgeson).

  5. I recall reading “The Colour Out of Space,” by Lovecraft as a teen. I haven’t read it lately, so I don’t know if it would still scare me as much. Pet Sematary got my pulse racing, I seem to recall. And there was a Stephen King short story in Just After Sunset. I believe it was called “N.” I really enjoyed that one. I’m sure I could come up with more.

  6. @David: I don’t kinow if I’ve read The Night Lands. I’ll have to check it out.

    @Jeff: Lovecraft had an amazing knack for getting under your skin. And the possibilities linger in your brain long, long after you read him. I agree about Pet Sematary. Gave me serious chills.

What's on your mind?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

