Parallel Tuesdays

Play it Again – Top 20 Rewatchable Movies

Check out this list  of the 20 most rewatchable movies by Pace J. Miller. Find movies you might not have seen in awhile but are definitely worth rewatching ( Die Hard, The Shawshank Redemption or any of the Indiana Jones movies perhaps) and maybe some you haven’t seen before but want to put on your to-watch list (Armour of God for me)…

The 20 Most Rewatchable Movies of All-Time There are some films that, for one reason or another, have an extremely high ‘rewatchability quotient’ (as I like to call it). You know, one of those movies that you happen to come across one night on TV when you have nothing better to do, and you end up watching till the end (even when there’s something else on that you haven’t seen before) – and you still found it enjoyable and not a waste of time. Or if you have it on DVD, you might whip it ou … Read More

via About Writing – The Personal Blog of Pace J Miller

I’m not sure I could restrict my list to just 20 movies because I’d definitely have to add Princess Bride, Tangled and Poltergeist at the very least.

Mayhap we could come up with a Top 50 list together. Yesssss…

Which movies would you put on the Top 50 Most Rewatchable Movies list? What are your favorites from Pace’s list? Any on the list you haven’t seen?

17 thoughts on “Play it Again – Top 20 Rewatchable Movies

  1. Stand by Me is a great one. I’d want to add Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade. That was one of my favorites. Also Apollo 13. Love that movie and have watched it umpteen times.

  2. Definitely Shawshank Redemption, Stand By Me, and the Terminator movies. I’d add Jaws (just the first one), Storm of the Century (Stephen King, of course!), and Hocus Pocus! I’ve discovered lately that many times it’s the music score as much as the movie that keeps me watching!

  3. ooh, Shawshank Redemption… definitely. Also, Stand By Me (keeping with the Stephen King genre).
    Annnd.. True Romance! I could watch that over and over in the same day. It has everything.
    Also, my new favorite that was very well written: The Town. If you haven’t seen it… I suggest you see it. Great film.

  4. “The Wizard of Oz” should be on that list. Also, “Back to the Future,” “Sixteen Candles,” “The Breafast Club,” and “Throw Mamma from the Train.” Don’t forget “Jaws,” “The Shinning,” the original “Halloween,” and the original “Night of the Living Dead.” And no movie list is complete without “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”!

  5. At least once a year I watch The Fifth Element, While You Were Sleeping, Love Actually, Spirited Away, Howls Moving Castle, Labyrinth, and The Princess Bride.

  6. I didn’t see some GREAT rewatchables on his list: Pretty Woman, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Dirty Dancing, The Hangover, Old School, Dazed and Confused, Annie, and all the John Hughes’ films. I could go on and on….but now I’ve got a new blog post stewing. 🙂

  7. I think Jaws will be a movie that I can watch any number of times, as well as Apollo 13. Just great movies. One of my favorites to watch over and over is V for Vendetta. It never gets old! Also, my sort of “guilty pleasure” movie that I watch every once in a while is My Cousin Vinny. I love it!

  8. Here are some of my favorite rewatchables that didn’t make either of the original lists, top 20 or next 30. I made up my list from the large stack of tapes and DVDs sitting beside the TV. In no particular order:
    Casablanca
    Stagecoach
    Psycho (the original)
    The Maltese Falcon
    Treasure of the Sierra Madre
    The Blue Max
    High Noon
    M*A*S*H
    Star Wars IV (A New Hope)
    When Harry Met Sally
    The Good The Bad and The Ugly
    Blade Runner
    A River Runs Through It
    O Brother, Where Art Thou
    That list could be much longer. Some of mine are older than anything on the original lists so many of you may not have seen some of them.

  9. Some of my favorites are
    Jaws,
    Blade Runner,
    Alien and Aliens (love the first two, ambivalent about the other two)
    The Princess Bride
    Labyrinth
    and finally : Conan the Barbarian (The one made in the 80’s. I love that movie and watch it all the time. No, I don’t like Conan the Destroyer or Red Sonja.)

What's on your mind?