Tuesday Toss-Up

What’s on Your Summer Reading List?

book stack
Aaaahhh summer. Sun, sun, sun, lots of sun, sun and more sun.

Sadly, I’m likely to burst into flame if I spend too much time in direct sunlight.

Thank goodness for shade, AC*, hard apple cider and looooong summer reading lists.

 

Here’s what I recently crossed off my list:

  • Stephen King’s The Shining (reread after more than twenty years)
  • Barry Eisler’s Rain Storm (book three of his John Rain series…also known as Winner Take All)
  • Tessa Gratton’s The Blood Keeper (book two of her Blood Journals series)
  • Jim Butcher’s Storm Front (book one of his Dresden Files series)
  • Stephen King’s Mr. Mercedes (book one of his Bill Hodges Trilogy)
  • Michael Connelly’s 9 Dragons (book fourteen of his Harry Bosch series)

 

Here’s what’s still on the list:

  • Barry Eisler’s A Clean Kill in Tokyo (book one of the John Rain series)
  • James Rollins’ The 6th Extinction (book ten of his Sigma Force series) and The Bone Labyrinth (book eleven…out later this summer or fall)
  • Tessa Gratton’s Blood Magic (book one of the Blood Journals series)
  • George RR Martin’s Winds of Winter (really, really, really hoping it comes out this year)
  • Jim Butcher’s Fool Moon and Grave Peril (books two and three of the Dresden Files…and every other Dresden Files book…I’m a latecomer to the series but I’d heard much fanfare and book one impressed me much)
  • Stephen King’s Finders Keepers (book two of the Bill Hodges Trilogy)
  • Jeff Lindsay’s Dexter’s Final Cut and Dexter is Dead (books seven and eight of the Dexter Morgan series)
  • Emma Donoghue’s Room

*Prayers going out to all of those around the world suffering through intense heat waves.

What’s on your summer reading list and what are you most looking forward to reading? Have you caught any of the books on my list? What did you think?

Photo Credit
book stack, mine

10 thoughts on “What’s on Your Summer Reading List?

  1. I hadn’t planned to read them, but I watched the series and am now addicted to Outlander. I finished the first book and have started the second. I’m also hoping to read book 4 of the Harry Potter series, and some more Bill Bryson books – who I recently discovered. I just finished The Lost Continent and really liked it. Laughed out loud often! After that, I have no idea – too many books, too little time!!!

    1. I keep meaning to add Outlander to my list. It sounded like an interesting premise. I haven’t seen the show yet but it’s on my list as well.

      I haven’t heard of Bill Bryson. I’ll have to check him out. 😀

  2. That’s a nice list you have there. 🙂 My reading list is full of serials from JukePop Serials right now because a lot of my favourite writers there are participating in a novella contest. And I’m reading Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea too.

    1. I haven’t heard of JukePop Serials. I’ll have to check that out too.

      I looooove Ursula K. Le Guin. I always think of her and Madeleine L’Engle together. Which makes me want to read A Wrinkle in Time again.

  3. I see you’ve been reading the Dexter books. I’m curious how you think the TV series compared? I’ve only read the first couple of books, and I think because I was already so attached to the TV series (and Michael C Hall) that I couldn’t get into them….

  4. I don’t read many books these days. Do comics count? If so I recently discovered Gwenpool. She’s a funny teenager who gets transported into the Marvel comic book universe.

What's on your mind?

