ROW80 Check Ins

That’s How it ROWs

cat on a bench
I see you up there, goals. I will get you.

You know how, when your foot falls asleep and goes numb, then wakes up with that horrible pins and needles sensation? You know it’s going to pass, but it drives you nuts until it does. You just have to remind yourself, it will pass.

At the moment, that’s what I’ve got going on with my motivation and enthusiasm. They’re waking up, so that’s good. It’s just not the most comfortable experience.

Add a nice bit of jury duty (still ongoing, by the way) on top of all that, and it makes for an interesting week, goal-wise.

Anywho, let’s see how much go there’s been in my ROW* since last check in:

Writing

Last Week

Nada.

Yup. Not even a little bit.

This Week

Do I dare set a goal when I still have jury duty?

Nope. I think I’ll leave it open-ended this week.

Cello

Last Week

I worked on a  new fingering pattern for the passage I’m learning. I thought I had that puppy down (not at full speed, but still), but bombed in my lesson. I can chalk at least part of it up to being tired all week during practice, but I also think there’s a few things going on with my bowing and fingering.

Part of my difficulty is tension. The passage is so fast, I tense during the especially swift portions. I didn’t notice that I was tensing until after I made a complete mess of the music during the lesson. I thought fatigue had caused the mess, but it’d really just exposed it. Once I was able to sit calmly at home and evaluate things, I saw that I was holding tension in both my bowing hand and my fingers (especially my left pinky…deadly for the triplet I have to play).

This Week

My strings teacher suggested I slur the bit of the passage containing the triplet. While this didn’t work in lesson (I was completely spent by that time), it seems to be helping now. Knowing I don’t have to make tiny, quick bow changes allows me to relax a little more. Now, I need to work on relaxing completely. If I can nail that, I’ll work on upping the temp.

Health

Last Week

I managed all three workouts. Yay me!

This Week

Same as last week. Three workouts.

Family

Last Week

We binged some Netflix together. Does that count?

This Week

We’re still getting sorted out. Probably no official family game or movie night this week. We’ll just wing it.

***

*ROW80, also known as a Round of Words in 80 Days, is an opportunity for us to set goals (for writing and/or other areas) and share them with a community ready to keep us accountable and cheer us on. If you’re interested in ROW80, you can find more info here and the latest check in post here.

Photo Credit
Lilah Cat, mine. Available on Flickr. | CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

7 thoughts on “That’s How it ROWs

  1. Netflix-bingeing together totally counts!! And, what with the tricky cello piece and the jury duty, it sounds like a very reasonable thing to do.

    Having just gotten back from a weight machine/swim/soak session at the Y, with my body all pleasantly achy, I salute your pair of perfect-workout weeks! =)

    And, BTW, your bio is wonderful!

What's on your mind?

