ROW80 Check Ins

Wherefore Art Thou, My ROW?

balcony
O ROWmeo, ROWmeo…

It’s not really my ROW I’m searching for, it’s my motivation. It snuck out in the middle of the night. Probably to party. I expected it to come slinking home just before dawn, shamefaced at abandoning me and ready to get back to work. Alas, my motivation has stayed away.

I keep standing in motivation’s yard, calling up and getting no response.

Right now, I’m working (not very well) on fumes.

Despite the drag I’m feeling from lack of enthusiastic motivation, I keep on keeping on. I’m sure, pretty sure anyway, that I can coax motivation back if I just keep going.

Here’s how I’ve been doing:

Writing

Last Week

Instead of finishing TTG, I reworked the rework of MN. After starting the rework of TTG, I realized I was going to have to change MN considerably. I felt it was better just to do that and carry the flow through to TTG. I’m still working on TTG.

This Week

Finish reworking TTG.

Cello

Last Week

My intonation is improving. I’m able to relax into playing a little more, though I still have my shaky moments.

I practices fewer hours than I have been and took one day off. I’m not beating myself up over it, as I suspect I’m probably in a regrouping phase mentally.

This Week

For the passage I’m currently working on (from O Come, O Come Emmanuel), I need to bring my speed up to match the indicated tempo. That’s what I’ll be putting the most focus on.

Health

Last Week

3/3 workouts. Didn’t improve intensity much, but didn’t back off either.

This Week

4 workouts.

Family

Last Week

We had two family movie nights and enjoyed microwave flourless chocolate cake (I need to tweak the recipe a bit though).

This Week

We may shift our family night from Wednesday to Friday. The vote isn’t in on whether it’ll be a game or movie this week.

***

*ROW80, also known as a Round of Words in 80 Days, is an opportunity for us to set goals (for writing and/or other areas) and share them with a community ready to keep you accountable and cheer you on. If you’re interested in ROW80, you can find more info here and the latest check in post here.

Photo Credit
Balcony by Jan Arendtsz, on Flickr | CC BY-ND 2.0

17 thoughts on “Wherefore Art Thou, My ROW?

  1. Maybe that motivation is waiting for the turn of the season. I already feel a little coolness in the morning, even as we struggle here with 90 degree weather. I would miss the rhythm of checking in each week for ROW, sometimes twice each week, for that keeps me focused and my goals for the week/month visible. You know and work that line between practice and beautiful performance. Maybe the same occurs for that lovely recognition that comes when I reread my work, searching, analyzing to revise, and I realize the scene or chapter is done. May you have a good week.

    1. Excellent point! Our transition to fall occurs later here, but there’s still a hint of the seasonal change in the air. That might be what’s holding back my motivation. I hadn’t thought about it that way. Thanks. 🙂

  2. Last Thursday, my motivation completely abandoned me. I ended up spending the day reading and playing around with my Jonas & Isaac notebook project. I think I just needed to refill the well, because Friday morning that fickle motivation was back. Hope yours comes back as well.

    1. 😊 They’re fairly short. Sometimes 15 minutes or less. Sometimes as long as 20-30 minutes. I figure the frequency is necessary because I sit for a long time with writing, homeschooling etc.

  3. Have you had some big changes in your life recently, Sonia? Those could be draining your motivation as your mind demands processing time. Sometimes it could be the infant sparks of a new idea, hoping to coalesce, that distracts you “just that little bit” enough that you think you’re lacking motivation, but really your head is search, spinning, creating, but hasn’t formulated its ideas fully.

    Just a thought. Here’s to hoping that you find your groove soon.

    1. Great points! We had a break in with our car recently. I think that threw me off more than I thought it would. Also, I’ve been driving hard creatively for a few months now. Maybe I’m wearing out some. 😊

      1. An invasion of a personal space, like my car, would throw me off completely, so yeah! totally get how you could have been out of sorts after that. Add in the extra creative outflow? Who knows?

What's on your mind?

