ROW80 Check Ins

You Win Some, You ROW Some

relaxing husky
Whaddya mean the finish line is still three yards away? I’m comfortable here.

Here we are again, another Sunday ROW80* check in.

I’m a little disappointed in my progress this week. I didn’t miss by much, but what I did miss was due to poor time management. I’ll be working on that this week.

You can see last week’s goals here and the updated writing goals here.

Here’s where I’m at now and where I’m going:

Writing

Last Week

I finished the STO2 and M scenes and worked up editing notes for LLF and the scene that comes right after (let’s call it NA).

I should be pleased, as I hit my updated goal. Still, I’d like to be faster and more efficient with these scene rewrites. My problem is that I’m often putting my writing off until the end of the day, when I’m tired and short on creativity. I need to put the writing first…even if it means getting up a little earlier.

This Week

Rewrite LLF and NA.

Cello

Last Week

On target for practice hours, but my intonation is still rough. Turns out I’m tensing up (I suspect it’s because I’m trying too hard to control the bow).

I’m a little more than halfway through O Come, O Come Emmanuel. There’re higher bits driving me nuts, but I’m not ready to throw in the towel and drop them an octave…yet.

This Week

Same as last week, really. Practice goals of 1.5 – 2 hours daily (with an optional day off). Training my ear to play in tune. Relaxing the tension in my bow hand so the sound can flow.

Health

Last Week

I did 4/5 workouts. There’s no reason I couldn’t have done all five, except I left the workouts until the end of the day on one too many days. This is another item I have to move up earlier in the day.

I’m doing well on IF and nutrition. It’s become pretty routine. I won’t be including it in the ROW80* goals from now on, unless something changes.

This Week

Workout at least five days. Schedule workouts before lunch.

Family

We enjoyed our first family movie night in a long time. We introduced the kids to The Matrix.

It looks like movies are going to be the family night favorite for a while. Everyone seems to have a long list.

***

*ROW80, also known as a Round of Words in 80 days is an opportunity for us to set goals (for writing and/or other areas) and share them with a community ready to keep you accountable and cheer you on. If you’re interested in ROW80, you can find more info here and the latest check in post here.

How are you doing on your progress? Are you winning the race or falling behind?

Photo Credit
Chilling Fox 😉 by Ralf Κλενγελ, on Flickr | CC BY-NC 2.0

13 thoughts on “You Win Some, You ROW Some

      1. Their posters were so unique how they just had the date in green and everyone knew it was for the Matrix movies. Oooh. Cool beans. Terrible ending for the last one, I thought, though. So they need another one to end it nicely, me thinks.

  1. The matrix is always a cool movie to watch. I haven’t seen it a while myself. I think it’s time for a rewatch 😊 There are rumors going around that there might be a sequel in the works. It would be very cool if those rumors would prove to be true 😀

  2. Time management can be a problem. I like to alternate hours, working on writing during odd hours and everything else during the even hours. Those to-do lists also help keep me on track.
    You still made good progress this week. Good job!

  3. Time is often a tricky issue. I often choose to write later in the day/evening because I can rest assured that everything else for “today” is done, so I can just go until I run out of gas.

    Of course if you are going to work on writing, or exercises, earlier in the day, that begs the question, what’s going to move down?

    I liked the first Matrix film, and the Animatrix. It was interesting to see different storytellers take the same general concept and each take it in their own direction.
    Some time I think I’ll watch the Matrix with the RiffTrax (running commentary from the MST3K guys).

    1. That’s the hard part…what to move down so I can move the writing up. Especially this last week, it’s been tough.

      I think I remember watching some of the Animatrix. I’ll have to check it out again.

      I love MST3K. I bet their Matrix commentary is hilarious. We had a lot of commentary of our own. 😀

What's on your mind?

