ROW80 Check Ins

ROW the Line

tight rope balance
It’ll all about balance…

Welcome to another Sunday ROW80* check in. Time to see if this week’s progress balances the goals or is ready to fall to its doom.

I’m calling this week another win even though I’m more tired than enthused. I hit all of my goals…or will by end of day.

Let’s see where we’re at, shall we?

Writing

Last Week

The scene I’ve been working on forever the last couple weeks has been the bane of my existence (although I’m quite sure there will be others…and probably very soon). You might think, because it’s a rewrite, it would be no problem. It was definitely a problem.

The difficulty was that the scene was missing something essential when I wrote it the first time. Actually, it wasn’t so much that something was missing as figuring out what. I couldn’t put my finger on it and, so, had to wrestle the thing like a giant snake.

Alas, I finally conquered the snake. Once I figured out how the scene needed to get from opening to midpoint, it all came together.

I may or may not have shouted “Take that, sucker” an danced a victory dance.

This Week

Next up on the scene list is one that should be easy to rewrite. I feel I grasped the essentials the first time around. This time, I need only to adjust a few details. Let’s call it the LLF scene.

I’d like to say I’ll finish this scene in a day or two, but I’ll give myself all week. Just in case.

Cello

Last Week

I exceeded all my practice targets, with the exception of yesterday…I took the day off. Still, I’d accumulated enough “extra” practice to hit my overall hours.

This Week

I’m working on The Piano Guys arrangement of O Come, O Come Emmanuel. It’s a piece that will challenge me, but isn’t out of reach. This song will likely be project over several weeks.

This week, I’ll be focusing on incorporating the grace notes, getting acquainted with the middle section (down an octave from the sheet music, as my strings teacher suggested…so as to better fit my skill level) and shifting smoothly at the end of the middle section.

In general, I’ll be working on training my ear, playing in tune, and bow control.

My practice goals are 1.5 to 2 hours daily, including at least 30 minutes dedicated to improving intonation. I’m giving myself an optional day off, as yesterday’s break was very refreshing.

Health

Last Week

Things shaped up well. I hit my targets. Being back to a normal routine has been wonderful.

This Week

Same as last week: Intermittent fasting while keeping nutritional levels up and five days of gentle workouts. I will be upping the intensity of my workouts slightly as my ankle feels stronger.

Family

This week, we’ll be establishing a family movie/game night. First up will probably be a movie…which means I need to get some popcorn.

***

*ROW80, also known as a Round of Words in 80 days is an opportunity for us to set goals (for writing and/or other areas) and share them with a community ready to keep you accountable and cheer you on. If you’re interested in ROW80, you can find more info here and the latest check in post here.

How goes your progress? Have you been able to balance or are you teetering?

Photo Credit
Colin showing his tight rope walking skill by Richard Ashurst, on Flickr | CC BY 2.0

10 thoughts on “ROW the Line

  1. Hi Sonia, Thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog! Your post reminds me that I should do an analysis of where I am with my goals. I usually do that once a month in my personal journal but it’s been awhile. I’ve been away from writing for awhile and think I probably won’t get back to it until fall. Summer always seems to be my time off from things!

What's on your mind?

