Killer Thursdays · ROW80 Check Ins

Thrill Me: Summer Movie List

*ROW80 update at the bottom of the post

Ah, yes, it’s summer again. Around here, summer lasts roughly half the year and the temperatures average 542°F.

Okay…maybe I’m exaggerating. But not by much.

Fortunately, there are a few good movies to watch while we hide out from the heat.

This summer, I’m all about the thrill. Give me some horror, a little adventure, a touch of psychological disturbance and maybe a super hero or two.

There are two upcoming releases I’m super-duper excited to see:

The Dark Tower series is my all-time favorite Stephen King story. I can hardly wait to see how they’ve translated it into film.

***

 

I read IT around sixth grade (clearly, I needed more adult supervision with my reading choices). It’s still on my list as one of the scariest stories ever.

I’m planning to reread the novel before I see the movie.

***

There are several movies I missed in the theater, but I’ll be just as happy watching them on video:

I’m a little hesitant with M. Night Shyamalan movies. Sometimes they work for me, other times… But Split was highly recommended to me, so I’ll give it a chance.

***

The original Resident Evil movie is one of my favorites. Of course I have to see all the installments, including Resident Evil: The Final Chapter.

***

The trailer for A Cure for Wellness reminds me a bit of Shutter Island and American Horror Story: Asylum. How could that not be fun?

***

Ah, Life. We all know alien life forms are always evil. Why do people keep looking for them?

***

Alien: Covenant is another case where the original movie is one of my favorites, compelling me to see how the rest of the story turns out.

***

I’ve grown rather fond of the seemingly endless Spider-Man reboots. I hear Spider-Man: Homecoming isn’t another origin story, so that’s a plus.

***

And here’s the ROW80* update:

This week’s goals are coming along nicely. Now, I just need to keep up the pace for the rest of the week.

Writing

Still working on the STO scene. I’d hoped to have it done by today, but I knew that’d be a stretch. I think I’m on track to finish by the end of the week.

Cello

I’m putting in lots more than the minimums I set, to the tune of 45-50 minutes daily. I’m tempted to raise the minimums but reluctant to do so until I know I can consistently put in these kind of hours.

Health

Now that I’m back to a normal routine, the intermittent fasting is no problem, and I’ve been able to increase my workout time for each session.

***

*ROW80, also known as a Round of Words in 80 days is an opportunity for us to set goals (for writing and/or other areas) and share them with a community ready to keep you accountable and cheer you on. If you’re interested in ROW80, you can find more info here and the latest check in post here.

***

For my fellow ROWbots (or anyone working on a goal or two): How’s it going?

For everyone: What’s on your summer watch list?

16 thoughts on “Thrill Me: Summer Movie List

  1. I’m also very excited for The Dark Tower. I haven’t read the books yet (yes I know shame on me right 😂), but I am a huge fan of Stephen King. The trailers look very promising, and the cast is absolutely splendid.
    You also have some cool movies lined up by the way. Split is absolutely amazing: I think you will love that one. Alien Covenant can go either way. I really loved the movie, but there are also people that didn’t enjoy it one bit. As for Spiderman Homecoming, that was a really fun film. It was really well done, and put a smile on my face while watching it. The other movies I haven’t seen yet. But both Life and Resident Evil are very high on my to watch list as well. Looking forward to your thoughts on these 😊

    1. I wouldn’t worry about reading the books first. They’ll probably change so much. King is really hard to translate into film. I just like to pick apart what they do change…which is partly why I’m rereading. 😂

  2. I’ll, uh, let you have the thrillers! I saw Psycho when I was 5 (yeah, not so much supervision back then!), and I dream very vividly. So…not for me!

    You’re doing very well! =D

  3. Nice progress!!
    Don’t really have much on my watch list. I struggle to just sit and watch anything. I do still need to finish watching the second season of Outlander(which I got on DVD last Christmas). That will probably wait until I have the house to myself for a few hours(in about 6 weeks).

  4. Geez, I’m so far from the movie scene that I’ve only even heard of one of those. Can’t wait for the kids to be a little older so I can come out and play again.

    Good luck on the goals!

    1. Lol. I know how that goes. There’s a stretch in there where the kiddos are too big just to be content in your arms but not big enough to sit still in the theater. Not to mention how many movies are not young kid appropriate.

  5. Hopefully the first two items on your list are good. Stephen King adaptations don’t always translate well to film.

    I highly recommend Spider-Man. Haven’t seen Split, but I hear it’s a return to form for the director.

  6. Those two movies based on King’s work are on my must-see list as well. Unfortunately, my husband does not like scary films, so I may have to go solo. Split is excellent, but A Cure For Wellness drags until the last act–but the cinematography is gorgeous–it reminded me of the original The Shining.

What's on your mind?

