ROW80 Check Ins

ROWmancing the Goals

It’s that time of the week again, folks. Yes, I’m talking about the Sunday ROW80* check in. Time to evaluate the progress so far and decide whether to continue in the same direction or chart a new course, if necessary.

jungle
Your goals are right through there. Head on in.

I’m calling this week a win. I fell down on some of my goals (mostly because I didn’t think about balancing everything I needed to do last week), but I made it through my biggest challenge.

Let’s check in, shall we?

Writing

Long Term Goal: Still aiming to complete the “official” first draft of my WIP manuscript by the end of this year.

Short Term Goal: I’d planned to complete the STO scene rework and start on a new one, but I didn’t even get through 3/4 of the STO scene. I’m not kicking myself over it, but I do intend to finish it this week, preferably by the Wed check in.

Cello

Strings camp is done!

There were a couple hairy moments right before the concert. Is any event complete without them?

I broke a C string right before dress rehearsal. For awhile, I thought I’d have to figure out how to play missing a string and without throwing anybody off by being out of tune. Instead, my husband and son rushed over to the music store to get a new one, and my section leader installed it and tuned me up with a little time to spare before the concert.

Right before we walked on stage, one of the younger players dropped her violin and shattered it. She was devastated. We were heartbroken for her. Still, she bravely joined us on stage. She read the song intro she was scheduled to read and read it well even though there were still tears in her eyes. We couldn’t help but applaud her with all our hearts. And, for the last song, another player in her section lent her her violin so she could play the finale. Disaster into something beautiful. Very inspiring.

There might have been other crises, but everyone pulled out the skills and courage we needed to stick the landing. All of the players gave it their all. Our conductor/strings teacher and section leaders were fantastic. Our audience was wildly supportive (and patient when necessary).

I’m glad it’s over. But I’d do it again in a heartbeat.

Long Term Goal: This hasn’t changed. I still want to be able to play ny piece I choose smoothly, easily and with good intonation and passion. But now I want it even more.

Short Term Goals:

Last week, I planned to practice at least an hour daily (2 on the weekends) in addition to the 2.5 hours daily of strings camp rehearsals with 30 minutes dedicated to improving my ability to play in tune and hear when I’m out of tune. I managed more practice than the minimums every day except yesterday. I clocked “only” an hour yesterday, but I think that’s pretty reasonable after a week of extra intense practice.

For the coming week, my goal is a minimum of 1.5 to 2 hours practice daily, including at least 30 minutes dedicated to improving my ability to play in tune and hear when I’m out of tune.

I’m also looking for a song to learn. I’m thinking Michael Bublé’s Feelin’ Good. I haven’t found a cello arrangement yet, but I think I can drop the vocal arrangement an octave or two and see how that goes.

Health

Long Term Goals: No changes here. I still want to improve over all fitness, especially strength, flexibility and endurance.

Short Term Goal:

Last week, I had planned to keep up my intermittent fasting and gentle workout routine. I didn’t anticipate how strings camp would affect both of those. Instead, I ate as healthy as I could without the intermittent fasting. I only managed 2/5 workouts, but maybe 3+ hours of music practice daily counts for something.

Going forward, I’ll continue to use intermittent fasting while keeping my nutritional levels up and work out at least 5 days a week (fairly short, gentle workouts due to an ankle injury).

Family

This is where I accomplished the least. Again, I didn’t consider how strings camp, in addition to our everyday tasks, would affect us.

There’s just a little bit left to wrap up for this homeschool year. I need to prep for the fall, but I’ll be working on that bit by bit over the next few weeks.

I’m planning to start family game/movie night the week after next.

jewels
Pretty, shiny goals.

***

*ROW80, also known as a Round of Words in 80 days is an opportunity for us to set goals (for writing and/or other areas) and share them with a community ready to keep you accountable and cheer you on. If you’re interested in ROW80, you can find more info here and the latest check in post here.

***

In case you were wondering, the title of today’s post was inspired by one of my favorite “old” movies (Kathleen Turner, Michael Douglas and an Indiana Jones type adventure. What more could you want?):

Because, sometimes, going after our goals is a little like hunting a rare gem through a jungle with an unreliable partner and assassins at our backs.

***

How goes it with your goals?

Photo Credit
Jungle by seliaymiwell, on Flickr | CC BY-NC 2.0
jewels by Peter Richardson, on Flickr | CC BY 2.0

14 thoughts on “ROWmancing the Goals

  1. Aww, that story about the girl shattering her violin really made me sad. I ofcourse can’t imagine what she must have gone through, but I really feel for her. I think it’s amazing of her to still go on stage, talk about bravery: wow! 😊
    Romancing the stone. Seriously that was such a fun movie. Great atmosphere,and one of those films that they really are not able to make anymore these days 😊
    Goodluck with the rest of your goals 😀

    1. She was incredible. 😊

      I agree with you. They can’t make movies like that anymore. They just wouldn’t work. Same goes with tv show from around that time. At least we get to keep enjoying them.

  2. That’s awesome progress, Sonia! Keep it up!! Also, kuddos for creating goals that are actually achievable and realistic, i.e., doing light workouts because you’re ankle isn’t 100% healthy instead of a) not working out at all or b) destroying your ankle trying to run a marathon. And I love that you have a family goal in there.

  3. Ouch! I feel so bad for the violin player. With respect to dieting, I am still doing the fasting. My jeans feel looser so it must be working. My daily routine rarely changes so I don’t have your headache of struggling to adhere an eight hour window when away from home.

  4. I think there’s something in my eye. No, couldn’t be… just because I read that bit about the girl who broke her violin. Must be dust or an eye-lash.

    BTW, where’d you get these lovely images? Especially the “fog and trees” one… I SO want to go there (which is odd, since we we just had a week of all fog and frankly, it was kind of miserable).

  5. Congratulations on the concert! I hope the other musician is able to repair or replace her violin!
    Love that movie, Romancing the Stone 🙂
    Good luck with your work on your wip!

What's on your mind?

