Parallel Tuesdays · parallel worlds · Uncategorized

Who Was Your First Fictional Love?

Arrakis, Dune, the desert planet

Do you remember the first fictional character you fell in love with?

Sure, they might only be the product of someone else’s imagination, but that doesn’t mean we can carry a torch. Am I right?

I’m right.

I’ve had a few fictional loves over the years, but my first is still my favorite: Paul Atreides of Frank Herbert’s Dune.

Oh, Paul, you can still make my heart go all wobbly (*shhh* don’t tell my husband…okay, he already knows, and he’s resigned to it).

I first fell in love with Paul as a young teen. My mom had a wonderful library full of science fiction and fantasy. I picked up Dune and fell in love from the first page.

When we first meet Paul, he’s a fifteen year old boy who is both unusually gifted and fairly ordinary. His family takes an assignment on the desert planet of Arrakis, also known as Dune, which is the only source in the universe of the precious spice, a drug which can, among other things, allow some to see the future.

When his family is betrayed by a rival House, Paul flees into the desert with his mother and begins the transformation into the man he least wants to become but cannot escape. The Mahdi, or Kwisatz Haderach, is a messianic figure who can see all possible futures and is tasked with saving humankind.

Over time, Paul accepts his fate as the Prophet, defeats his enemies and ascends the throne as Emperor. At the same time, Paul unleashes a bloody war that rages across the universe because the war is the lesser evil of the two fates he has seen for humankind. Ultimately, he wants all people to be free to seek their own fates, not be locked into the futures he sees.

I loved not only Paul but the whole Dune universe (Duniverse?). I’d never encountered an imaginary universe that felt so real. Reading Dune was like falling through a hole in the page and landing on Arrakis.

And, when I did, I hitched a ride on the nearest sandworm and headed straight for Paul.

***

Who’s your first fictional love?

Possibly Probably Related Posts

 

Photo Credit
Best HD Planet galaxy facebook cover by Tatiana T, on Flickr | CC BY 2.0

 

6 thoughts on “Who Was Your First Fictional Love?

  1. I haven’t read any of the Dune books, but played one of the video games. Those pesky worms would gobble up my vehicles grrr.

    First fictional love? No idea. In terms of anime I liked Nene from Bubblegum Crisis. She is the weakest of the Knight Sabers, but I thought she was funny and admired her computer wizardry.

      1. It’s a sci-fi show starring four women who battle robots using Iron Man style armor. Despite the title the series has nothing to do with bubblegum. Talk about false advertising!

  2. Oh deary me. I… do not like Dune. 0.0 Granted, I think I was forced to read it in middle school (when I was far too young to understand anything or read a book that large [I wasn’t a reader.]) And I still can’t stand it to this day, but I respect the fact that you remember your first fictional love. I honestly don’t even know if I have one… 0.0 I read too much intermediate fiction. (It was all about warrior cats. Bahahaha!) I didn’t start reading, truly reading, until after… college? o.O Oh gosh. I was probably a little too old to fall in love with fictional characters at that point. Now, TV characters. Mmmmmm. Hahahaha!

What's on your mind?

