Shows You Hate to Love

Now that The Walking Dead is back, we can all stop chewing our fingernails worrying about the gang surviving the boxcar. Now we can go on worrying about Beth and whether all our beloved characters are going to survive the rest of the season with their lives or their humanity intact.

Boxcar door by David Brossard on Flickr

This is why I hate to love TWD.

It’s not that I don’t expect characters to die, even main characters, especially in a world crawling with flesh-eating monsters (oh, and zombies too) it’s just that I want them to have a satisfying death that fits the storyline without cutting their story arc too short. Is that too much to ask? *grumble mutter grumble*

Of course, I’ll (probably) keep watching even if they bump off what I consider the non-negotiable characters.

And, if I do get tired of hating to love TWD, there’s always the other show I hate to love, Game of Thrones (the hate-to-love goes quadruple for the books by the way). Darn that George R. R. Martin for making characters we try so hard not to love because just know he’s going to bump them off sooner or later. There’s a reason why he’s known as the most infamous serial killer in fiction after all.

***

What about you? What shows or books do you hate to love and why?

Photo Credit: Boxcar door by David Brossard on Flickr, CC BY-SA 2.0

Categories: Tuesday Toss-Up | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Shows You Hate to Love

  1. I didn’t know that about the Game of Thrones author – but oh my gosh is it true! LOL. We canceled our cable and up until this point it’s been fine and we haven’t missed it. But missing the on air presentation of TWD has been depressing. Gonna try and catch it online tonight. Yah, they always kill off the characters I love. Except Shane – I didn’t trust him. I’m Team Rick all the way.

  2. You really hit the nail on the head, Sonia…on both counts. I actually don’t care for TWD, but my hubby is hooked. GOT is the one I despair at, while I’m avidly watching it. Good post!

    • Thanks!

      It’s funny, as a writer I know I may have to kill off a character because it’s right for the story but my definition of “right for the story” gets super narrow when it comes to the books and shows I love. LOL

What's on your mind?

Blog at WordPress.com.

