Is Your Brain Haunted?

Do spectres haunt the halls of your mind? Rattling their ghostly chains. Footsteps echoing. The doors of your memory creaking. Moaning, wailing and generally being a pain in the posterior lobe?

Baby Bird

Lovin’ you is easy ’cause you’re beautiful. Dootin dootin doo doo…

I’m haunted by movie lines, commercials and sometimes even words (like “anesthesia”…isn’t that a weird word? Just say it a couple of times. Really draw it out. There you go. Now you know what I mean.) but mostly songs. Mostly old songs but some new. They rise, unbidden, from their graves to pester me at random moments. And believe me when I tell you that many of these spirits are malevolent, hounding me until I slip up and say whatever it is they’ve been wailing about out loud.

That’s when the real horror begins.

Sometimes it’s Ice Ice Baby. While I certainly admire the man, Robert Van Winkle has become, that song…that song really needs to be exorcised from my memory. If you were around in the days when the radio stations relentlessly played that song, you know what I mean.

And it can get so much worse. [Hit Me] Baby One More Time,  Loving You, We Are Never Ever Getting Back TogetherI’m Too Sexy, Warm it Up, Call Me Maybe and, one of the most persistent haunts, Hooked on a Feeling.

Just imagine blurting any one of these out in a crowded grocery store, walking down the street or during coffee and donuts after church. *shudder*

There are other, more benevolent, haunts of course: Beethoven’s 5th (Did I really need to link to that one? Surely that one happily haunts everyone.), Mozart’s Rondo alla Turca (yes, I’m totally dancing in my head to this one right now), Layla, The Sound of Silence,  Time After Time (What? I dig Cyndi *shrug*) and White and Nerdy.

And, if the halls of your mind are too quiet and you’ve been skull-shopping, hoping for a haunted brain pan of your own, here’s something my kiddos recently forced on shared with me:

You’re welcome.

What haunts your brain?

***

Please note, no baby birds were harmed in the making of this post. The little guy (gal?) you see above fell out of his nest on a windy day. My daughter found him and our good friend, a spectacular animal whisperer, took him in and has been taking great care of him. He should be ready for release back into the wild soon.

Baby Bird 2

Categories: Tuesday Toss-Up | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Is Your Brain Haunted?

  1. I think the door to my memory is permanently closed. Seems like I never remember anything any more. lol. Actually, I do frequently get songs on the brain. What’s frustrating is that they’re usually songs I don’t know enough words to, so I can’t really sing them.

    BTW, speaking of being driven crazy, the staircase in your picture always drives me crazy. I love optical illusions, but I obsess over them, too. Oh, well.

    • Sometimes I get those songs too. In that case, I often make up my own words. 😀

      Oh yes, the staircase. It does make you want to keep turning your head to try and make sense of it. Maybe even stand on your head. 😀

  2. I think of it as my soundtrack to life and saving me from needing to wear headphones or carry anything. The music is on when my mind wants to listen to something. It always makes me happy when a song appears out of nowhere.

What's on your mind?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

