Tuesday Toss-Up

What’s the Oddest Thing on Your Desk Right Now?

Our desks tend to become microcosms of our world. They collect snippets of our lives. Stuff parked there while we find a better spot. Stacks of paperwork we’ll sort through…in a little while. Sticky notes and pens. The ubiquitous coffee (or tea) mug. Maybe a toy or something to amuse us when our brains need a recharge.

And sometimes we keep stuff on our desk that might make others scratch their heads a little.

Recently, I cleared* my desk of old paperwork, my collection of empty but dirty coffee mugs, dry pens and  incriminating evidence items that just didn’t belong on a desk….

All except for the jar of peanut butter which never quite makes it back to the kitchen.

What's on Your Desk?
Yeah, I know. It’s not organic or all natural. It’s what was on sale.

Yep. I like peanut butter. A lot. I’ll eat it right off the spoon (of course I use a new spoon every time…what kind of person do you think I am? *whistles innocently*).

Sometimes I’m at my desk for looong stretches of time. Of course I need the basics…caffeine and protein. What if I needed emergency sustenance? So, yeah, I keep the jar of peanut butter close at hand…

Now all I need is a stash of spoons so I don’t’ have to lick peanut butter of my fingers get one from the kitchen every time.

*Note I didn’t say “cleaned”…I haven’t exactly gotten around to dusting or wiping my desk down yet. So ignore those little dust bunnies hopping around in the corners of the desk.

Maybe what’s on  my desk isn’t that odd after all. It’s certainly not the oddest thing I’ve every had on my desk…but that’s another story. It’s just the oddest thing on my desk right now.

What’s the oddest thing on your desk right this minute (link to pics welcome)?

Bonus: what’s the oddest thing you’ve ever had on your desk?

20 thoughts on “What’s the Oddest Thing on Your Desk Right Now?

  1. The speakers on my computer, which were part of another computer that has long since died a horrible and tragic desk. Either that or the pen I’m currently using, which I think I picked up off the street somewhere and somewhen.

  2. I can’t compete in oddness. Everything here is pretty normal, even the paperweight that says “Age and treachery will overcome youth and skill.” I’ve probably got most of you beat in messiness, though. Everything has a place, but it’s rarely there.

  3. Right now the strangest thing on my desk is a smelly sock. Just one. I can’t work out where it come from or whose it is. Certainly isn’t mine! I keep looking at as if expecting a reason for it’s appearance.

    1. Bwahahaha. That really is like my purse. I have two young(ish) kids…I can’t tell you the things I’ve found in the bottom of my purse, including a smelly sock of indeterminate origin.

  4. Standard Peanut Butter (also called Regular or Store-brand) – This is what most of you grew up with. You’ll generally find two varieties available – creamy (smooth) and crunchy (chunky) – but no matter which you choose, the peanut butter itself is usually a very fine grind resulting in a creamy, silky texture. Generally speaking, creamy peanut butter has a red lid and crunchy peanut butter has a blue lid. According to FDA regulations, a product must contain at least 90% peanuts to be considered peanut butter. Standard peanut butter generally has at least additional 3 ingredients besides peanuts: salt, sugar and vegetable oil. The type of salt or sugar may vary but the vegetable oil is usually either partially- or fully-hydrogenated to prevent oil separation. Skippy, Jif and Peter Pan are the most common brands in the United States.

  5. I mean, for a gal who frequently blogs with a jar of peanut butter and spoon at her desk (so true), it’s quite surprising that I don’t have a darn cupcake flavored by my beloved peanut butter featured on my website. Well, today I’m changing that and am bringing you the peanutbutteriest* cupcake recipe you’ll ever find.

What's on your mind?

