Got Spring Fever?

Orange RoseA rose from my garden. I can’t take any credit for
their beauty or numbers…all I did was water ’em.

spring fever (n):
1) A feeling of restlessness or excitement commonly associated with the approach of spring.
2) An irrepressible urge to go outside and play in the dirt.
3)An excuse for a decrease in productivity surround the advent of spring.

As you might have noticed, I took a wee break from blogging and social media-ing. I’d planned on taking a week or two off to  focus on a massive influx of work projects.

Then, two weeks turned into four.

Or something like that.

You know how it goes.

Strawberry

A strawberry from my garden. They’re not very sweet yet but that hasn’t stopped the tiny slugs from sampling (note the bite on the tip).

I’d like to blame my absence on a case of Spring Fever and maybe that’s partly so. After all, when I’m not in my dank little work cave (my home office), edumacating my offspring, or plodding away on the WIP (though not as much as I should, shame on me), I’m outside frolicking in the garden.

Okay, maybe not frolicking exactly. Unless you consider pulling weeds, pruning, amending soil and planting frolic. It may not be your idea of frolic but I have an immensely hard time pulling myself away from the garden to come in and do all the other important stuff that needs doing.

I’m calling it Spring Fever.

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

And I’m not the only one enjoying spring. Our half husky, half german shepherd, all hurricane pup is having the most fun of all…

Merlin Digging in the Mud6 month old Merlin digging a hole for the new peach tree…about 10 feet away from where the tree will actually go.

Muddy MerlinMerlin resigns himself to his fate…a bath with the garden hose.

Rather than fight spring fever, maybe I should embrace it. Surely we could get just as much working and learning done outside as we could in…right?

Well, maybe not. But we should probably take advantage of the spring weather before summer kicks in. And, since it’s already in the high 80s to low 90s, that’s probably only a couple weeks away. Plenty of time for work and homeschool when it’s scorching out.

Are you in the throes of spring fever? What’s your favorite way to celebrate spring?

Categories: Tuesday Toss-Up | Tags: , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Got Spring Fever?

  1. Yes, Sonia, I had noticed your absence. I missed you.

  2. Is that THIS year’s rose? If so, I may have a bit of temperate-zone envy. We just got more snow on Monday! But yes, I’ve been poking around outside, seeing which perennials are waking up (and who might be dead … I’ll give them a few more months). Thing is, spring is here and gone ever so briefly, I think some concessions have to be made. I’m already planning “greenhouse day” when my mom, aunt, sometimes grandparents, and this year the kidlet all get to go plant shopping. I’m just hoping she doesn’t rip all the heads off the flowers. 🙂

    • Greenhouse day sounds fun! I love wandering through the nurseries and garden centers. 😀

      Yup, that’s a rose from this month. It’s already gearing up to be hoooot. Its 87 as I write this. I kinda envy your snow. LOL. But I am enjoying the garden.

      • I suspect you only envy the snow since you don’t have any. 😉 I can’t expect any of my roses to bloom until at earliest, mid-June. Glad you’re enjoying your garden, and hope you find some fabulous greenhouses and nurseries to explore this year.

  3. A lunch break at the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum didn’t do anything to cure my spring fever. Even though the arboretum is blanketed in snow, the exhibit of Fairy Gardens in the visitor center had me dreaming up ways I could add a bit of whimsy to my house plants (and eventually my garden). The exhibit is up through March 1.

  4. My forehead feels a bit warm, my fingertips are tingly, and my knees are a bit weak. I think I have a bad case of spring fever. My hands are ready to dig and my knees are ready to get dirty.

  5. Pingback: A Salute To Spring | From guestwriters

What's on your mind?

Blog at WordPress.com.

