Tuesday Toss-Up

How Do You Make Quiet Time?

.bad daY  by 27147 (Sippanont Samchai) on Flickr
Norbert contemplates the existential meaning of fetch.

Last week, we talked a little about all the talking we do, in person, be it on the phone, via email, text or social media, and whether it gets to be too much. Of course, how much is “too much” depends largely on the individual but there’s little doubt all of us could benefit from some quiet time daily.

The question is, how do you make that quiet time?

Do you have to sit cross-legged in a zen garden, drape yourself over a chaise lounge or (probably more realistically) hide in the bathroom with a pair of noise cancelling head phones?

I tend to find my quiet time in the weird unexpected ways. Doing the dishes, weeding the garden, folding the laundry, etc. While I’m not a huge fan of housework, I must admit I find myself refreshed after. When I’m doing a repetitive, fairly simple task (and as long as I’m on my own…which can be hard to achieve around here), I can think about anything or nothing. My mind is free to wander.

Walking the dogs by myself is another golden quiet moment…at least until our part-alien/half-chihuahua gets into a barking contest with the neighbor’s scotties.

Yesterday, I came across an article by Deborah Oster Pannell, talking about finding inspiration in the most unexpected places which echoes my experience (the rest of the article has some wonderful ideas on keeping that “New Year” feeling all year long). It made me smile to hear someone else found doing the dishes meditative. Perhaps the solution to world peace really is right at our fingertips.

Fishs Eddy by Peacock Modern (Heidi) on Flickr
It looks like a ton of work but it’s really a great big pile o’ zen.

Where do you find your quiet time?

.bad daY by 27147 (Sippanont Samchai) on Flickr by 27147 (Sippanont Samchai) on Flickr CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Fishs Eddy by Peacock Modern (Heidi) on Flickr CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

14 thoughts on “How Do You Make Quiet Time?

  1. I find mine in the shower. I love to take a long, hot shower and work out whatever’s bothering me that day. Or storyline if nothing is bothering me. It’s a nice half-hour of peace, and the water bill is worth it 😉

  2. At this point, I take any free time I can. I actually wake up earlier in the morning some days just to have some silent time. It is one of the few times that there is actually silence in the house.

  3. I don;t ever really get quiet time. I have time to myself a couple days a week where I try and cram as much as possible into 5 hours. Right before bed I try and remember to meditate- or really just breath deeply for a while, but kids could interrupt that at any moment.

  4. I find quiet time in my headphones that cover my ears completely as I’m taking the long bus ride home in the evening. It blocks out surrounding noise, and although thirty other people are on the bus, and the freeway’s packed with cars, I shut my eyes and I’m alone in a good zen spot. The view of the ocean on the way home helps a bit too.

  5. Quiet time is extremely rare these days in our world. I’ve been trying to use the morning commute for quiet time. Instead of the radio, I listen to a relaxation app. While I drive, it sounds like I’m relaxing by a crackling fire.
    Great post.

  6. Quite time is essential for writers (at least in my opinion). It seems like when I find a moment my mind whirls and I end up coming with some ‘great’ ideas. I usually find my time in weird places as well. Oftentimes I get scheduled a cook’s shift at work and I find myself being the most productive when I’m by myself and cooking for others.

  7. So many comments I didn’t reply to! I was sure that I had. I must not have clicked “Post comment.” And now I don’t even remember what I said. I’m sure it was very witty. 😉

  8. I used to hate doing dishes. Well, I can’t say that I like doing them now. But this method sure does beat the way I used to let everything get all dried on. Thanks!

What's on your mind?

