Tuesday Toss-Up

Do You Talk Too Much?

keyboard cat
Muffin finally clears his inbox…only to discover he’s received 562 new messages.

Conversations at home. Hollering at the kids. Coaxing the puppy out from under the bed. Phone calls. Work conversations. Email. Texting. Novel writing. Blog writing. Commenting on blogs. Twitter. Facebook.  Email. Email. Email. Text. Text. Text. Phone call. Phone call. Phone call.

All of this technology affords us so many ways to talk to one another. In seconds, we can make a connection with almost anyone anywhere, meeting new people, renewing friendships, reaching out to family, and sharing ourselves with the world. It’s an amazing things.

But with the power to talk to communicate anytime anywhere comes the expectation, from ourselves and others, that we should be available to talk all the time.

Maybe we’ve even become addicted to talking all the time.

What do you think? Do we talk too much? Have we lost the value of quiet time?

Do you ever get to the end of the day and feel like you just talk too much, out loud and in writing? How do we balance all the opportunities for communication with the time we need to just be quiet. What do you do for quiet?

Photo Credit
[keyboard cat | ORIGINAL] by Cassandra Leigh Gotto, on Flickr | CC BY-NC 2.0

8 thoughts on “Do You Talk Too Much?

  1. I love quiet time. I usually stop all the work and book related stuff by dinner so hubby and I can eat in peace and quiet. After dinner we usually read. It’s nice to have that time to unwind. I am wondering if that makes people sleep better at night

  2. Funny, I was thinking you were referring to “talking” too much in our writing. Yes, of that I am guilty as charged. I will do anything to keep from talking on the phone, so there I am terse and to the point, then hang up.

  3. The fact that the title of this blog pulled me out of my self-imposed blog hiatus proves it spoke to me.

    Or, did I speak to it? No matter. Well, perhaps I did, because I…

    [This space intentionally left open for aimless blather.]

    [And, this one. Must be one of those days.]

    I treasure conversations with strangers, check-out friendly faces, and my network of friends. I draw energy from those contacts.

    I choose not to explore whether my drawing of energy leaves others exhausted.

    That said, I also treasure early morning quiet time. It’s one of the benefits of having a 5 to 5:30 a.m. internal alarm clock. Alone time. For at least two hours to meditate and plan my day. Sweet!

    To BALANCE in 2013!

  4. I set my eyes at the bottom of your message page to write a reply and immediately became impelled to talk. It was your “Novel in Progress” that drew me away. You are only 6K away from finishing your WIP. Congratulations.

    Okay, so now you know what takes up so much of my communication time. It’s letting myself be easily side-tracked. I don’t really like talking on the phone, so that’s not a problem, but I will write endless emails and even talk to “you” through my blog and writing. Sometimes it’s like I have verbal diarrhea. I can’t seem to stop. I am the author of my own communication woes. When I do get my own quiet time (after my husband goes to bed), I am usually too tired to do anything productive.

    However (you knew there was a however, right?), 2013 is for me the year of getting organized. This is all going to change. I am going to be so organized that sidetracking will be a thing of the past because it won’t fit into my squeaky clean office and new wave of committed energy.

    Thanks for your post. I really related to it!

  5. I spend so much time writing and blogging and dealing with the fine points of social media, that I don’t have time to talk, When I do talk, it’s with my fingers, and they often have nothing to say.

  6. @Shay: I find myself pushing quiet time aside to get more work done. And I’m missing it sorely. I am adding it to my schedule now!

    @Jay: LOL. I find the opposite problem in my first drafts…I talk too little and have to add more with editing. That posed a problem with NaNo but I was able to fix it. I probably talk too much in blog posts though. 😀

    @Gloria: Amen to waking early. I also really treasure having an hour or two in the morning to myself. I’m more of an introvert though, so I need more quiet time to fuel my talking time.

    @Sandra: Thanks! I’m so excited to be so close to the end of my first draft. Right now, I’m reworking the outline because it needed an ending change. 😀 Amen to getting organized. I’ve been tracking my time in various activities so that I can put together a workable daily schedule (in fact, that may be a blog post of its own).

    @Caleb: I feel like they’re both talking. On a word heavy day, whether it’s written or spoken, I definitely feel like I’ve maxed out my quota. For a person who was always told as a kid that she talked too much, that’s saying something LOL.

  7. Yes, yes, yes! I always knew that I was a person who needs at least some “quiet time” each day, but it was never more evident to me when trying to write my first book. For me, alone time, quiet and reflection are critical for the creative process, and to get my draft finished I had to “back off” from social media, blogging, and even too much texting/phone chatting with friends in order to get done. I think all our opportunities for communication are like yummy food – we should enjoy them and indulge – but not so much that we feel bloated : ).

What's on your mind?

