The Spoof’s on You: Favorite Parody Songs

As a kid I couldn’t get enough of Weird Al Yankovic‘s parodies on the hottest pop songs. After being bombarded with Madonna’s Like a Virgin and Michael Jackson’s Beat It on the radio and MTV, who didn’t love Al’s Like a Surgeon and Just Eat it? With YouTube, it seems like song parodies are flourishing and there are some pretty hilarious ones. Here are a few of my favorites…

*By the way, some or all of these may not be appropriate for work place viewing or younger viewers…so hide in the break room or make the kiddies go out and play*

Al Yankovic’s parody of Ā Chamillionaire‘sĀ “Ridin”

College Humor‘s parody of Black Eyed Peas “I Gotta Feeling.”

WinterSpringPro’s parody of Britney Spears‘s “I Wanna Go.”

Actually, the original Britney Spears video looks like a parody too and is definitely worth a watch.

What are your favorite music video/song parodies? Do you think parodies are disrespectful to the original work or violate copyright? Or do parodies give an original work more exposure and possibly create more fans?

Categories: Tuesday Toss-Up | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “The Spoof’s on You: Favorite Parody Songs

  1. Weird Al does a paradoy of The Day the Music Died that my Star Wars obsessed boys watch constantly on youtube – The Saga Begins. It’s a really cute lego star wars video using the song. I like to watch it,too!

  2. I love Weird Al!

    But my favorite is this topical NSFW music video parody of Wilson Phillips and TLC, by William Belli, Detox Icunt, and Vicky Vox: http://youtu.be/sO-msplukrw

  3. @Lara: That one cracks me up too!

    @Cynthia: Oh my. ROFL

  4. I love “Just Eat It”. Thanks for sharing these newer ones.

  5. White and Nerdy is my favorite! I love just about anything by Weird Al.

    This one is NSFW, and is a parody of a cover of a very popular song. http://youtu.be/IwPHy17Iu6E

  6. @Emma: Weird Al never goes out of style. šŸ˜€

    @Amy: ROFL. I love that version. College Humor does a pretty funny version too “Some Study that I Used to Know”: http://www.collegehumor.com/video/6754965/some-study-that-i-used-to-know

  7. livrancourt

    The day Michael Jackson died, my (now 12 year old) son and I were in the car. The radio was playing ONLY MJ music, and when Beat It came on, my son asked, “Why are they playing this Weird Al son?”
    Heh…

What's on your mind?

Blog at WordPress.com.

