Favorite Movie Lines to Quote

Around my house, quoting movie lines is an olympic sport. This activity sometimes delights innocent bystanders and sometimes causes them back away slowly, never taking their eyes off us, until they reach a safe distance.

Here are a few of our favorite lines…

“Release the kraken!” Zeus, Clash of the Titans

Kraken, Clash of the Titans 2010

Such a versatile line. It can signal the start of an epic adventure or dire trouble. Sometimes it just means we’re in a jolly mood. Whether you favor the 1981 filmย starring Harry Hamlin or the 2010 remakeย with Sam Worthington, this line never loses its wallop.

*

“Have fun storming the castle.” Miracle Max, The Princess Bride

The Princess Bride

Generally a send off line. Leaving on a big trip or just heading to the grocery store? This is the goodbye line for you.

And two more favorite lines because it’s too hard to pick just one:

“Inconceivable!” Vizzini

“Hello, my name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.” Inigo Montoya

*

“You know, for a clown fish, he really isn’t that funny.” Bill, Finding Nemo

Bill, Finding Nemo

This one is usually reserved for a fail or embarrassment of some sort.

*

And my favorite movie line of all time is:

“Yippee ki-yay, m*therf*ck*rs!” John McClane, Die Hard

John McClane, Die Hard 1988

Another highly versatile line, as long as there are no tender ears present.

What are your favorite lines?

Image Attribution (In Order of Appearance):ย 
Image from Clash of the Titans, 2010 (fair use)
Image via imdb.com (fair use)
Image from Finding Nemo (fair use)
Image via Wikipedia (fair use)

Categories: Tuesday Toss-Up | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 26 Comments

Post navigation

26 thoughts on “Favorite Movie Lines to Quote

  1. We do the movie quotes here too. Some of our favorites are from Speed…”I guess they fell behind.” and “Why aren’t you in school?” And of course, “I feel the need, the need for speed.” from Top Gun. This starts our roadtrips. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I love posts like this…

    I immediately thought of Gone With the Wind… “Frankly, my Dear, I don’t give a damn.”

    And then my mind switched gears to Dazed and Confused… “Wipe that face off your head, B****.” I didn’t want to cuss on your site. AND, “Lick me, all of you!” LOL

    Fun post, Sonia!!

  3. Todd

    I love the smell of napalm in the morning . . .

  4. What the heck are you even talking about?

    That’s like a dollar an hour!

    LUCKY!

    FRIKKIN IDIOT!

    Whatever I feel like, GOSH!

    Make yourself a dang “case-a-dill-a”!

    It’s a free country. I can do whatever I want.

    Maybe I will, GOSH!

    Decroded piece of crap!

    Yes, I am a HUGE Napoleon Dynamite fan. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. We’re movie junkies at home – so there are just too many!!! Although, personally, ANYTHING (make that everything) in “Empire Records”. Most. Quotable. Movie. Ever.

    • “Damn the man! Save the Empire!”

      (also Todd’s beautiful Apocalypse Now! Quote – my absolute fave movie of all time!!!)

  6. Every line in The Princess Bride is worth quoting!

    I know I’m going to wake up in the middle of the night and think of something more original than Jerry MacGuire’s ‘Show me the money’ or ‘You had me at hello’, but, all I can think of at the moment is Steve Martin in The Pink Panther, trying to acquire an American accent.

    When we fire up the barbecue, my daughter and I will take turns shouting botched pronunciations of ‘Hamburger’.

  7. If quoting movies WAS an Olympic sport, I really would train like an athlete and give my whole life to go for the gold. Problem is, whatever line I give, the second I hit “Post Comment”, I’ll think of another and be sorry. So I am going to use the go-to line. I even named a blog once after it (“Barry Manilow’s Wardrobe”) and I firmly believe, as a movie, it is very nearly a quote every or every other line:

    (Responding to Vice Principle Vernon’s “Any questions?”)

    John Bender (Judd Nelson) “I have a question. Does Barry Manilow know you raid his wardrobe?”

    Oh, and 99% of the lines that came out of John Candy’s mouth. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Great post.

  8. I find it so interesting that people tend to pick the same quotable movies. Princess Bride, Napoleon Dynamite, Gone with the Wind. Around here, we are prone to quoting lines from The Jerk (actually, any Steve Martin movie.) “My Special Purpose!” lol!
    I love hearing what other people latch onto. I’m going to use the Finding Nemo quote some time in the near future ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. The movie’s probably older than you, Sonia, but I think Chevy Chase had the best line ever in “Fletch” when he rang the doorbell and a pretty young lady answered with a towel wrapped around her: “Can I borrow your towel? I just ran over a water buffalo.”

  10. I agree every line in Princess Bride is quote-worthy. I also love:

    “Life moves pretty fast, if you don’t stop and take a look around once in awhile, you could miss it.”

    “Guys like us don’t change, Saul. We either stay sharp or we get sloppy, we don’t change.”

    “If you had a chance to change your fate, would you?”

    I’m sure more will come to mind after I click “post” lol

  11. Just about every other line of Young Frankenstein, and maybe a few of those that I skipped.

  12. I don’t quote movie lines, but at times, my son nearly quotes entire movies. Fun post.

    ~FringeGirl

  13. Great choices! For some reason a lot of Jeremy Irons quotes from Die Hard 3 stick in my head ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Hi, Sonia. How have you been? Thanks for sharing. This is my kind of post. Love the Princess Bride stuff. When my kids try and outguess me on trivia, and they’re proven wrong, I use the Quint/Hooper conversation from Jaws. (To Hooper) “Don’t you tell me my business again. You get back on the bridge… It proves that you wealthy college boys don’t have the education enough to admit when you’re wrong.”

    -Jimmy

  15. The Princess Bride is such a classic. We’re watching The Sandlot nonstop these days, so I’ve got to go with “you’re killing me, Smalls!”

  16. My husband and I quote a lot of movies,but a favorite is Jerry Maguire. My girlfriends and i quote The Color Purple. If my husband wants to make me laugh, he’ll throw out a few lines from Four Weddings & a funeral!

  17. Princess Bride: “You keep using that word, I don’t think it means what you think it means.”

    “Anybody want a peanut?”

    “Hey Lady!”

    Willow: “I stole it from a stupid Dikeany!”

    “Your eyes, your whiskers…I have to KISS you!”

    “Oh Louie, always messing with the fairy love potion!”

    Fast Times at Ridgemont High: “No matter where you are, pretend it’s the place to be…’Isn’t this great?'”

    Clue: “What’s this? Another door?”

    “I hate him SO much…flames…flames on the side of my face…breathing…heaving breaths!”

    When Harry Met Sally: “Waiter, there is too much pepper on my paprikash.”

    Spaceballs: “Prepare ship for Ludicrous Speed!”

    “Raspberry?! Only one man would dare give me raspberry…”

    The Dark Crystal: “Smells like Gelfling? *sniff, sniff* Could be IS gelfling!”

    Ok, I’ll stop now. You hit a weakness. Once I start, I’m hard to stop.

  18. Your final and fav from Die Hard is one that’s used around here when the sh** hits the fan. Thanks for a fun post!

  19. What a fun post! These made me smile. My favorite which immediately popped into my head is, “Run Awayyyyy!!” From Monty Python and the Search for the Holy Grail.

  20. A line that has stuck with me since the moment I heard it, because it is so true. “Because some men aren’t looking for anything logical, like money. They can’t be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with. Some men just want to watch the world burn.” Alfred, in “The Dark Knight.”

  21. Paul Baughman

    Too many to list. Lots of good ones from “Buckaroo Banzai”

    “No, no, no, don’t tug on that. You never know what it might be attached to. ” –Buckaroo (said during brain surgery)

    “Why is there a watermelon there?” –New Jersey
    “I’ll tell you later” –Reno

    “Hey, hey, hey, hey-now. Don’t be mean; we don’t have to be mean, cuz, remember, no matter where you go, there you are. ” –Buckaroo

    “Sealed with a curse as sharp as a knife. Doomed is your soul and damned is your life.” –Lord John Whorfin

    “I’ve been ionized, but I’m okay now. ” –Buckaroo

    “History is-a made at night. Character is what you are in the dark.” –Lord John Whorfin (I think the

    “Lithium is no longer available on credit. ” –PA announcement at mental hospital

    “It flies like a truck.” –Buckaroo
    “Good. What is a truck?” –John Parker

  22. @Jean: Top Gun is hubby’s favorite movie. LOL.

    @Tiffany: Great combo. Hmmm…makes me wonder what mixing some dialog from different movies would do. Darn my lack of video editing and YouTube skills. ๐Ÿ˜€

    @Todd: Bwahahaha

    @Cynthia: We love Napoleon Dynamite around here too. We keep trying to convince our son to do the dance. We’re terrible parents.

    @C.E.: *hangs head in shame* I don’t think I’ve seen Empire Records. I shall have to correct that immediately.

    @Sherry: We do variations on “Show me the money!” “Show me the kitteh!” and others.

    @R.S.: LOL. Yeah, it’s tough to pick just a few. Every time you think of one, another pops up too.

    @Tam: Omigosh, I forgot about The Jerk. LOL. My son used to grab every stuffed toy and pillow he had when he wanted to sleep with us. It was like that scene from the movie.

    @David: I love Chevy Chase. ๐Ÿ˜€

    @Melinda: Ahhh, Ferris Bueller. So many quotable lines. And I love that line from Brave too.

    @Jack: Oh yes! Young Frankenstein is stuffed with great lines.

    @Fringe: Sometimes my kiddos quote obscure lines from their favorite movies…then they shake their heads sadly when we don’t get it. LOL

    @Deniz: I’m gonna have to go watch DH3 again. ๐Ÿ˜€

    @Jimmy: Hiya! Doing well. You? I’m gonna have to use that line on my kiddos.

    @Stacy: It’s been awhile since I’ve seen The Sandlot too. Going to have to check it out again.

    @Tracey: The wedding scene where the priest gets all the wording wrong is pretty hilarious.

    @Jess: We do the rhyming thing from PB too. And I love love love Spaceballs. So many good lines from there too.

    @Selena: It definitely is the best movie line of all time (in my opinion at least). ๐Ÿ˜€

    @Jeff: Oh yeah. “Some men just want to watch the world burn.” That gives me the shivers.

  23. My son can hold entire conversations using nothing but movie quotes. He did it for three hours straight one day, took me that long to finally catch on that EVERYTHING he had said was a quote.

    My favorite line of all time comes from Spacehunter in the Forbidden Zone: *Fake German accent* Do they have any missing limbs? I hate it when they have missing limbs.

  24. โ€œI killed the president of Paraguay with a fork. How have you been?โ€ — Grosse Pointe Blank

    โ€œSometimes you win, sometimes you lose, and sometimes it rains.โ€ — Bull Durham

    โ€œAre you crazy? The fall will probably kill you.โ€ — Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

    โ€œI want my two dollars!โ€ — Better Off Dead

    “Run, Forrest,run.” — Forrest Gump

    And a hundred others we use on a daily basis that I can’t remember at this late hour. Great post, Sonia!

What's on your mind?

Blog at WordPress.com.

