Ray Bradbury Lives On

Last week, I was in the throes of the move (the last one for the next 20 years, at least, if I have anything to say about it) and bereft of Internet. Since I rarely bother to turn on the TV (unless it’s to watch Netflix or something from the DVR) and even more rarely bother to pick up a newspaper, I did not hear about the passing of the great Ray Bradbury until last Sunday.

I wonder what Mr. Bradbury would say about our reliance on the digital word. E-books. Blogs. Google News. Yahoo! News. Search engines. Chat boards. Wikipedia. Facebook. Twitter. Books can be burned at the digital word can be altered. While I delight in the digital, I wonder…

No doubt there are many articles honoring the passing of such a literary giant. He inspired countless writers and readers, students and teachers, the old and the young.

For me, his stories were one of the reasons I chose to become a writer. They remain always close to my heart and I will pass them on to my children. I have long planned on rereading as many of his works is I could get my hands on but, in the wake of his passing, I’m moving them to the top of my to-read list.

Some of my favorite works by Ray Bradbury:

What are your favorite works by Ray Bradbury?

Image Attribution (In Order of Appearance):
Image via Wikipedia (fair use)
Image via Wikipedia (fair use)

Categories: Parallel Tuesdays | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Ray Bradbury Lives On

  1. I agree! He left a great legacy. I should read one of his books again in honor of the man :)

  2. Fahrenheit 451 was the first Bradbury work I read, and I fell in love. It was also one of the first books I read when I immigrated to America, so it holds a special place in my heart. Love him.

  3. My favorite story of his was “The Man Upstairs”. I just bought copies of “The Martian Chronicles” and “The Illustrated Man,” two books I should have read in freshman year of high school. Maybe I just feel guilty that I didn’t….

  4. I struggled with Fahrenheit 451 when it was required reading in school, but I definitely appreciate it today. Great post, Sonia!

  5. He was definitely an inspiration for my early short stories because I read his works with such interest when I was young. I think his Fahrenheit 451 was my first introduction to dystopian novels.

  6. This was a nice article. Thank you for linking back!

  7. Loved The Martian chronicles! He will be missed. Nice tribute, Sonia!

  8. He will always be one of my literary heroes.

  9. I’m reading Dandelion Wine right now. I love falling into his stories.

  10. I rediscovered him a few month ago after deciding to read outside my box. The Martian Chronicles is a masterpiece. I plan to read him throughout the summer.

  11. A great tribute to a great man. Anyone who has read Dandelion Wine is all right in my books. He was a master of the words he sprinkled on a page of paper.

  12. I’ve only just discovered the grand old man has left us. But what a legacy he has left behind. The October Country collection of shorts are my favourite. Feeling totally bereft, and so upset I never got around to dropping a note in the post thanking him for all the stories.

  13. His short story, The Veldt, creeped me out when I was younger. I also loved Farenheit 451.

  14. @Jennie: He’s definitely a legend1

    @Adriana: It’s amazing how much an author can touch us.

    @John: I haven’t read The Man Upstairs. I’ll have to check it out. When RB passed, I realized how much of his works I hadn’t read yet. I’m going to be changing that shortly. :D

    @Tiffany: I remember being so horrified at the idea of burning books. Still am. LOL

    Billie Jo: You’re right about the dystopian angle of F451. I didn’t even think about that. I’m going to have to reread it.

    @Joe: Any time. Thanks so much for stopping by.

    @Marcia: *blush* I haven’t read The Martian Chronicles yet but they are definitely on my list.

    @Millie: “Literary Hero.” I like that!

    @Deniz: I love Dandelion Wine. Plus, the title’s just catchy. LOL

    @Darla: It’s so nice to rediscover an author like RB. Makes me want to go back and read Ursula K LeGuin, Asimov and others too.

    @Caleb: LOL. Right on.

    @Julia: It’s so lovely we still have all his works to enjoy and to share with the next gen.

    @Julia: Oooh…now I’ll have to read (or reread…because I can’t remember which LOL) The Veldt.

  15. Definitely the passing of a giant. This is one that really struck a chord with me.

What's on your mind?

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 437 other followers

