Giving Myself the Run aROWnd

ROW80 Check In 5/30/12

Must…hold…on!!!

My two-week check in has turned into a four-week check in. That seems to be the way everything is going these days. I’m struggling tremendously to keep up with anything. I’ve slipped with social media, blog posts (I’m getting them posted but not on time), comment replies, blog visits and writing.

I’m trying hard not to beat myself up over it because I know that doesn’t serve any purpose but I also know that something has to change. Clearly, my organization skills (which I’m not naturally endowed with anyway) need some serious upgrading. But I don’t know exactly where to start…yet.

Some of my busy-ness is due to a wonderful abundance of work projects. I’m contracted with a real estate website to build blogs. Nothing terribly fancy and no code (or not much anyway). I’m working on a blog for me over there too, one that will offer some blogging and Twitter tips for starter-uppers.

Here’s a link to that blog (which is still just starting up itself). You’re welcome to visit when I do.

For the time being, I’m going to keep plugging along and trying to figure out exactly what it is I need to change to get back in balance.

Where I’ve been since the last check in:

  • Work MIP daily, with permission to give myself a day off if I really need it: I’ve missed a lot of writing days. There’s a lot going on at home but skipping my writing time makes me feel even more off kilter.
  • Open the Scrivener file for the WIP: Yep! And I’ve been busily storyboarding when I have made my writing dates.
  • Get social media time up to speed: Still struggling with this one but I’m not going to fuss too much because I’ve got too much to work on.
  • Start Michael J. Sullivan’s Theft of Swords: Started but didn’t continue. I wasn’t able to get into it right then. I picked up Julianna Baggott’s Pure and Max Brooks’s World War Z and am going between the two (novel two-timer that I am).

For the next two weeks, I’m not setting any specific goals except to figure out what I need to regain my balance.

Bust out your digital pom-poms and find some more ROW80 peeps to cheer on here.

How are your goals going? Are you conquering them or they giving you a run for your money?

Image Attribution (In Order of Appearance):
Friday Funny Animals 12 by DrJohnBullas, on Flickr CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Categories: ROW80 Check Ins | Tags: , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Giving Myself the Run aROWnd

  1. I am overwhelmed with stuff right now, and my hubby looked at me last night and basically said I needed to regroup. Some of the to-do list is unavoidable (kids’ stuff, laundry, etc.), but I need to catch up on some other things as well. Hang in there, Sonia. Best wishes finding your balance!

    • I know what you mean. Sometimes it’s so hard to fit it all in. You don’t want to push aside your writing either but something has to give.

  2. A breather is good, Sonia. Figure out where you are and where you’ve been, and where you want to go. Then, go forth with confidence, focus and energy.

  3. “Wonderful abundance of work projects” sounds good. Don’t sweat ROW80.

    • It is good. I just have to get more organized so I can get more done…that or figure out how to make the day 30 hours long. LOL

  4. I just started ROW80 and I’m hoping to stay on track better this way. It’s great that things at work are looking good for you! Focus on the positives where you can. I included a Blessings vs. Gratitude Challenge in my ROW goals and linked the blog post with some exercises in my update today if you want to check it out. Whatever you do, I know it’ll be amazing!

  5. I’m right there with ya Sonia…I blow deadlines out of the water on a regular basis, both personal and professional. Nobody is happy when it happens. But one thing *I* personally figured out is to just say “F-it” (pardon the language, but after so many years active duty it is ingrained). Not that I DON’T CARE, but I now refuse to let myself beat myself up over it (that’s what supervisors are for anyway…one of their “perks”). I just make a new start each time it happens…kind of like hitting the *Reset* button. Give it the good ole college try. If I miss the mark, at least I can say I gave an honest effort and got *something* accomplished whether it was that task or the one that kept me from getting this one done. SOMETHING got done and I made forward progress somewhere. I follow your blog and see the ROW80 references, but I found if I track my goals, keep metrics, chart progress, etc, then I typically get flustered when I see a bottleneck or see my goals slipping.
    I say all of this which could be summed up very succinctly…TRY. If at first you don’t succeed, get some more coffee and try at it again. Rinse. Repeat.

  6. Hang in there, Sonia. Try to focus on what you ARE accomplishing, rather than where you’re lagging. I hear what you’re saying about how missing those writing days makes you feel even more off-kilter. After months of struggling with schedule and demands between day job, family, and my new career in writing, I’ve learned to write every day, even if that’s only 15 minutes. (It’s like exercising. Once I’ve written for 15, I often can fit in another 15-30.) I’m making slow progress, but progress nonetheless. As family demands decrease in the summer months, I hope to pick up the writing pace again.

    • Very good point. And I’ve forgotten about the “just 15 minutes” thing. I had been doing a “just 5 minutes” thing that worked really well..but I let it slide. Going to have to go after it again. Thanks for the encouraging words.

  7. You’ve got nothing to feel bad about, you’ve been busy and productive. I really like your new blogging site and want to follow it. Shaking pom poms to cheer you on.

  8. Pingback: ROWing Into My Deeps… ROWnd Three Goals « shanjeniah

What's on your mind?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

