ROW80 Check Ins

Making the ROWnds

ROW80 Check In for 10/26/11

I’m feeling good about last week. Still didn’t nail every goal but I was successful overall. The shorter blogging schedule is really working for me and I’ve fallen in love with my MIP again. Suddenly, I want to sneak off at every opportunity and dive into my story.

Here’s where I’ve been:

  • Work on MIP tasks 4 days/week: Figures that when I cut back on my goal days, I’d end up doing more. I did a whopping 6 days this week. And I downloaded my free Scrivener trial 2 days ago…that’s really perking up my writing. Woohoo!
  • Exercise for a minimum 5-10 minutes at a time, 5 days/week: Still hitting 4 days/week. Perhaps that’s what really fits into my rhythm and I should focus on building up the length of each workout and not trying to hit all 5 days first.
  • Update ROW8O page for the new round: Done!
  • Have each blogging day’s posts ready at least 1 day in advance: Done!
  • Finish 45 Master Characters: Done.
  • Read at least 1/3 of the way through George R.R. Martin’s Clash of Kings: Goofed on the title here and didn’t notice before. I meant A Storm of Swords. At any rate, I finished it…and probably when I should have been exercising or cleaning or something. LOL. Darn that George Martin for being so good at sucking me into his characters. And also darn him for killing my favorites.
  • Visit Twitter 1-2x daily: Seems to be working well for me. 
  • Start 1 piece of short fiction: Started and very close to completion.
  • Write 2 new scenes for MIP: Nope on the 2 new scenes. I did add extensively to my story bible, however. Lots of world-building stuff.

Here’s where I’m going:

  • Work on MIP tasks 4 days/week.
  • Exercise for a minimum 10 minutes at a time, 4 days/week: This seems to be what fits into my schedule the best and I’d rather set myself up for success then failure. 
  • Update Life List Club page. 
  • Finish horror flash fiction piece started last week and begin another.
  • Keep up with all other ongoing, weekly goals.

Find more awROWsome folks here.

How’s your week been? Hit any big snags or achieve any victories?

18 thoughts on “Making the ROWnds

  1. Awesome job on your goals, Sonia! You are a huge inspiration to many of us (myself included). I’m thinking you should cut the MIP back to three days so then you’ll get in seven (joking). Have a great week 🙂

  2. Realistic goals that make you happy are more important that goals you feel bad you didn’t reach. Then when you do more you get the added excitment of: haha, beat my goal!

  3. @Nicole: Feel free to copy and paste. 😀 I know that I’ve been inspired by the goals of others. I love that about ROW80. I’m loving Scrivener so far. It’s set up for gathering notes and storyboarding. And it can turn the storyboard into an outline. So cool. Goofygrin

    @Juliana: I know! I finally did it. So silly I kept missing it. 😀

    @Kerry: Thanks! Right back at ya clink

    @Ghenet: Thank you. I can’t believe how helpful Srivener’s been. And it’s really gotten me back into enjoying my writing.

    @Ryan: Thanks. It hasn’t been exactly like pulling teeth but I wasn’t feeling the fire either. So glad it’s back.

    @Gene: LOL. It’s funny how that works.

    @asraidevin: Absolutely. I know some folks find it motivating to aim high but I tend to get stressed. Plus, there’s always so much going on. I have to be realistic about what fits into my schedule and what doesn’t. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Great job on your goals! I love the way that you have them all laid out neat and tidy. Perhaps if I did that I would have more success…lol. I hope the rest of the week goes well for you.

  5. Hi Sonia! I’m glad to see you’re enjoying Martin’s stuff as much as I am. I’m currently about a hundred pages into Storm of Swords, and I can’t stop. I’ll have to check out Scrivener. It sounds pretty convenient. 😀

  6. I’ve never read Martin, but I’ve heard that about him. We should start a petition to stop him from writing books that no one can put down. I mean, we have things to do, right? Sheesh!

  7. Great goals. You’ve inspired me on blogging ahead. I’m so far behind these days, I’m trying to pull posts out of thin air and it takes way too long. I accomplish the post, but lose time on other writing projects.

    Sounds like you are chugging right along.

    Here it is Saturday, and I’m just getting around to checking on other people’s progress. Tomorrow it’s time to start up again. Maybe I can manage better timing this week. 😉

  8. Thanks guys! Love Martin…except for his penchant for killing my fav characters. Arg!

    @Tia: It can definitely be tough to balance blogging with writing. I was finding that I was pushing my writing aside for blog posts/comments, etc. I cut back from 3 days to 2 and it’s helped a lot. I’m trying to have more fun too. 😀

What's on your mind?

