Friday Share · just for fun

The Meme-ing of Life

I see you

Some time ago, I was punished awarded with the Memetastic Blog Award. I crafted four lovely lies and one (un)remarkable truth to delight you. I am certain you all have been waiting on the edge of yours seats to discover just which is which. To spare you further agony of anticipation, I now reveal the whole truth and nothing but the truth (I’ve got my hand on my copy of Dune and everything):

  • I have a really violent aversion to coconut. I mean it. Violent. It all stems back from a really bad Spring Break experience. I won’t go there. (This one is absolutely untrue…I love coconut, am just nutty about it…and am also probably just nutty.)
  • I write Buffy/Angel fanfic prominently featuring Spike in my spare time. (This one is false…I mean, what spare time?)
  • One of my earliest memories is of me going kung fu on a neighbor boy. He was about 6 and I was 3 or 4. He’d taken my ball and wouldn’t give it back. I felt pretty justified busting out the cool Bruce Lee moves I’d learned at the movies. He cried like a baby, folks had to pry me off him, and my parents never took me to another Bruce Lee movie again. (This one is…true. Yes, I was a strange little kid. And I’m still a little odd. Deal with it. 😀 )
  • We have 3 dogs, 1 cat, 1 fish, 1 frog, 6 chickens and a duck. (This one is also plainly without truth. While we do have 3 dogs, 1 cat, and 1 fish, we do not have chickens or ducks…yet.)
  • I cannot think straight without a clean house and I find house-cleaning very Zen. I often stay up until midnight dusting and straightening. (This one, while it might have seemed the most plausible is really the least truthful. Just ask my husband…no, on second thought, don’t do that. Here, let me just stuff that dirty sock under the couch. What were we talking about again?)

There, now you can rest easier at night knowing which statements were false and which was true.

What was that? You weren’t really spending sleepless nights trying to suss out the truth?

Well, fine. That’s just fine. (No, I’m not pouting. My lip just sticks out like that sometimes.) We’ll just move right on to the Blog Mash-Up. 😀

Kitten Dispsenser

This week is the first installment of a weekly Blog Mash-Up. I’ve enjoyed mash-ups on other blogs and often found posts I’d missed or blogs that were completely new to me. I thought it would be fun to share posts that caught my eye over the previous week. So, each week, I’ll be gathering posts to share with you. Here goes the first Mash-Up:

So tell me, what’s inspired you over the last week?

Photo Credit
GINGER’S CHAIR by boston_camera, on Flickr | CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Kitten Dispenser (2) by Begemot, on Flickr | CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

17 thoughts on “The Meme-ing of Life

  1. What a relief. I have actually been losing sleep over this. Finally the wait is over…

    I don’t think I commented on the original post because while #3 seemed like the most unlikely, it also seemed like the kind of thing you just wouldn’t make up. I supposed I should spill the beans on my meme now…

    And I’m very flattered to have my blog included on a list with these other guys – they’re all awesome!!

    1. Spill, spill! I wondered if anyone would guess number three. I was a weird kid. 😀 And I still love Bruce Lee. Sigh.

      I love your blog! I’m sure I’ll annoy you with lots of link-love in the future. Hmmm…I may have to rethink the phrasing on that. Oh well.

  2. Hmm. Pretty sure I thought you were a neat freak. I’m relieved you’re not – we can remain friends 😉

    Wow. Going kung fu on a neighbor twice your age. That’s really something!

    1. Nope. Not a neat freak. I obsess over whether I’ve made a mistake in my writing but am not bothered by a giant pile of laundry. Go figure.

      As for that kid…I totally kicked his butt too. I bet he’s still afraid of strong women. Okay…now I feel guilty having put it that way. 😀

    1. Well, the cat actually stays in the sink because I’m not a clean freak and he is. He just can’t stand the clutter. 😀

      You are totally welcome for the shoutage. 😀

    1. Exams can definitely be the pits (sadly, not the Brad kind). Thanks for stopping by! As for the cat pictures…I just can’t resist a good kitteh pic. 😀

  3. Thanks for settling that! I was using the process of elimination, if #4 is true, then #5 can’t be…Huh? What socks? (shifting eyes side to side)

    1. Thank you for overlooking my dirty socks. 😀 And the dishes too. 😀 😀

      Okay…now I’m starting to worry you guys are gonna think I’m really, really sloppy. Really, I’m only kinda sloppy. Well…maybe more than kinda. Aw heck…never mind.

      😀

  4. I thought for sure the truth was your list of animals! Speaking of inspiring, you’ve been pretty inspiring to me, Sonia. It’s great seeing how you humbly started your blog only a few months ago and are now so very active in the writing community. I got home tonight and had a copy of Writer’s Digest in the mail and your post in my inbox. Thanks for sharing all of your good research — and good humor!

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words! When I started blogging, I never imagined that I would meet (online anyway :D) such wonderful people. I didn’t know what to expect because it was so far outside of my comfort zone. I’d rarely ever even read a blog myself. I had no idea there was such a welcoming community online. Thank you!

      And thank you to all the wonderful people who encourage and support others!

What's on your mind?

