Tuesday Toss-Up

In a Flash

I’ve been hearing a little bit about flash fiction since I came back to my writing. I hadn’t tried it though because it seemed a little intimidating somehow. However, my experiences with the OneWord writing exercise made me brave enough to try. This morning (as a part of my new morning writing routine…yay me!), I looked up writing prompts on Writer’s Digest and discovered this gem: “Only two weeks into the New Year had passed and Tim had already broken his first resolution: Don’t kill anyone. Write this scene.” I gave it a whirl and was pleasantly surprised to find I was actually able to finish a whole story. It’s in very rough form but nothing a little editing won’t fix. It needs some cutting to really qualify for flash fiction (under 1000 words, I think) unless I decide to expand it into a short story. Either way, I am well pleased.

I’ll share the story here when I’m done editing and rewriting. Not sure when that will be because I think I want to try to write a few new short stories or flash fiction stories before I edit anything else, including my manuscripts. I think that would help build up a little confidence in my own productivity.

I’m also thinking that my renewed efforts with the Morning Pages (see Morning Pages Inspiration) is beginning to pay off. My muse is no longer giving me the silent treatment…even if she is still a little scary.

2 thoughts on “In a Flash

    1. They are huge. It’s hard for me to let go and do the stream-of-consciousness writing sometimes. I think that’s where I get blocked when I’m writing a fiction piece too. The MPs force me to practice just letting go and writing.

What's on your mind?

