Tuesday Toss-Up

My Muse is Giving Me the Silent Treatment

My muse (who looks a lot like Joan Crawford with a cigarette in one hand and a glass of whisky in the other) is not pleased with me. Perhaps that is because I have yet to establish a consistent writing routine. I’m all over the map with my writing habits and the muse has finally had it with me (she never was very patient to begin with). So, although I’m now writing daily in this blog and tackling my Morning Pages first thing in the morning (more or less), I’m still struggling with establishing a ritual or routine for working on my manuscripts. I had a fairly consistent routine before the holidays but then I let it slide. And now my muse is on strike. She’s locked herself in her dressing room and is probably getting drunk and belligerent. Maybe I should threaten to hire Bette Davis instead.

9 thoughts on “My Muse is Giving Me the Silent Treatment

  1. Hi Sonia, saw that you were kind enough (or crazy enough?) to be notified of new posts on my Vampire blog. Thanks for taking interest in my works. {;

    Suggest you hire Bette Davis to beat the you-know-what out of Joan. I’d always wanted to see a cat fight between those two broads. (tee-hee).

    If you are interested in any other blogs of mine, Lorele’s Muse is on blogspot.
    http://loreleismuse-lorelei.blogspot.com
    It’s where I’m at most of the time.

    Have a wonderful week. Hope your muse comes out of hiding. Possibly a Pepsi with a shot of bubon over the rocks might do it ?

    1. Thanks for the link. Your comment made me laugh so hard. Thanks for that too! I managed a short, short story that I might make into a flash fiction story today. So I guess Joan has forgiven me…mostly. She’s still giving me the stinky eye over her drink.

      One of my favorite movies is Whatever Happened to Baby Jane. Joan and Bette together. You can’t beat it. Heh heh heh

  2. Yes! That’s the movie I was thinking about when I wrote that comment, but couldn’t think of the title. I loved that movie, mostly because of the ending. It really set you up, but also the two actresses, it was great.

    So, good. Joan is coming around. Good luck with that.

    Talk later.

    Lorelei

  3. Oh boy, Sonia, you’re playing my song–The Runaway Muse. So frustrating, but I have to think you might be better off with Joan. My highly temperamental muse is behaving quite badly as well, but she’s more like Greta Garbo strutting from my room leaving me high and dry with the announcement “I vant to be alone.”

  4. I remember once reading an article that talked about the idea that prior to the Enlightenment, many artists believed in the idea of muses, while after the Enlightenment belief waned, and stress went up. On some level, whether it’s true or not, there’s a certain necessary freedom in saying “I’m going to stand/sit by my (medium), and practice my craft. The rest is out of my hands. Sometimes the muse will lend me their aid, sometimes they will not, but I will do my part regardless, and eventually, sometimes, something will come of it.”
    One of my professors used to say “Writing is a bit like working with stone. You strike with your hammer ten times, and nothing happens, but on the 12th stroke a huge piece falls away. And what you have to remember is that every stroke was necessary to get to that point.”
    At a certain point all we can do is put in the time, and gradually refine our process as we learn what works.

    1. I love that. Sometimes, I feel like I’m banging my head against the wall and nothing useful is coming out. But, when I stick with it, I start flowing again. It must be that 12th stroke.

      1. There was actually another article, similar style, that talked about a group of dancers who perform certain rituals regularly. An observer watched, and felt something in the air as he watched the performance. The next day it wasn’t there, and when he asked the locals told him “God joined the dance.” They explained that it happens very rarely, but when it does, it is truly magical. “It may be the last time it happens for this dancer.”
        “Why do they continue to dance then?”
        “Out of gratitude. The dance is an invitation to join, yes, but it is also an expression of gratitude, that even when God does not join the dance, we remember, and are grateful.”

What's on your mind?

