I Love the Smell of Hiatus in the Morning

Yeah…okay…that title sounds a little off to me too.

Oh well.

As the year winds down and the holidays approach, I’m scrambling to wrap up my biggest goal for this year: finish my novel. The first draft anyway. As I’ve moved the deadline for this goal more than once, I feel especially compelled to make it happen this time. I’m taking inspiration from Ze Frank’s Invocation for Beginnings and harnessing my inner John McClane.

Let’s do this thing!

With that in  mind, I’m putting this blog on hiatus until the new year.

While I’ll be hunkering down and getting the job done (yippee ki-yay), I won’t disappear entirely from the online world. I’m planning to catch up with all the fellow bloggers, peeps and tweeps I’ve had so little chance to connect with this year. I joined the blogosphere and social media for the awesome community and, as I’ve wrestled with balancing home, work-projects and getting to The End,  I’ve missed hanging out with all you super folks.

And I. Will. Finish. This. Novel.

In the mean time, here are a few of my favorite posts to entertain you while I’m (mostly) away. Kind of like hold music…only, hopefully, much more interesting.

What Really Drives Dexter Morgan?
Old Favorites: Best Classic Movies
Spam and Eggs: Gems from the Spam Filter
Do You Remember Those Saturday Morning Cartoons?
How to Build a Zombie

And here’s one from Ze Frank, because he rarely never fails to make me laugh and/or think:

 

Got a favorite post, meme or YouTube video? Yours or someone else’s. Go ahead and share the linky love.

Categories: Tuesday Toss-Up | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “I Love the Smell of Hiatus in the Morning

  1. You go, girl! I’m so proud of you that you’re pushing toward your goals. You know we’ll all be here when the hiatus is done. :-)

  2. This is smart. The next time I take a blog break, I’ll put up a favorites list too. (That’s REALLY smart. One of those things when you find yourself thinking “I wish I’d thought of that.”)

    Anyway, best of luck on finishing the draft. I may join you in that quest.

  3. You can do it, Sonia! I’m in the same situation, trying desperately to carve out the time to get this WIP completed by year’s end. I’m half way there and know I can do it…with discipline and a bit of luck. Good luck, and be sure to post your success for us. Go, go, go!!!

    • Thanks! It’s tricky to balance everything. I’m guessing we’ll get better at is as we go along but sometimes we need to take a step back from some things in order to finish our work. I’m so close to the end of this draft and getting so excited about it. I hope yours is going well too!

  4. Just came by to see why you hadn’t been on Twitter much (cleaning up my tweet stream)… and this is the best reason I could’ve hoped for. I just finished NaNo and will be absent myself much of the next month+ with finishing the draft and being with family. YOU CAN DO IT!! Ride the writing zone :)

    • Aww! Thanks for checking up on me. I’m now patching the holes in my draft to make it an “official” and complete first draft. So close to the end…of this draft anyway. Best of luck on your WIP too!

What's on your mind?

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 434 other followers

