How to Have a Good Sick Day

soft paperThis week, I’m feeling a little under the weather. I’m not circling the drain or anything but I don’t exactly feel like climbing any mountains either. Or climbing off the couch, for that matter. Bruno Mars pretty much sums it up.

Except for, you know, the guy-specific stuff. And the birthday suit part…I got kiddos around here.

And dogs. Dogs are not shy about where they try to sniff when you’re under-dressed.

Anyway

I’m most home-based with work and kiddos which is both blessing and curse when I’m sick. Unless I’m too sick to even move, I can generally do what I need to do camped out on the couch or in bed. So, unless I’m too sick to even move, I generally have to do everything I usually do. I just have to do it while feeling crummy.

Thankfully, there are ways to make a sick day less lousy. Here are a few of my favorites:

Lorenzo and Katara

Lorenzo and Katara demonstrate proper napping technique.

Sleep.
Remember when you were little and you hated taking naps? Thought you were gonna miss all the good stuff? Now, naps seem like the ultimate luxury.  And I’m ready for a little luxury right n….zzzzzzzzz.

Catching Up on TV and Reading
How often do we get an excuse to watch the DVR backlog, rediscover the X-Files on Netflix, or spend hours reading? I, for one, feel pretty durn lucky if I get to watch an entire show or read a whole chapter without having to jump up and do something (laundry, client call/email, make dinner, feed the dogs, etc.)

It’s super-duper fun if I get to share a show or book with the kiddos. Right now we’re reading the first Jake Ransom book by James Rollins, so any excuse to pass it around and read out loud is welcome. And, on the tv front, it’s really not possible to watch any of the  Avatar: The Last Airbender episodes too many times.

Making a Pillow Fort
Or, at the very least, burrowing under pillows and blankets. Which usually leads to sleeping. Or reading.

IMG_5772 pillow fort installation

Note: Our pillow forts look nothing like this. But how cool would it be to have one of these?

Hanging Out with the Furries
The four-legged in our house always seem to know when someone is feeling less than stellar and flock to give their emotional support. Or maybe they’re just after all the free petting and snuggling. Or hoping for a sip of chicken soup.

What’s your favorite thing to do when you’re sick?

Photo Credit (in order of appearance):
soft paper by EmsiProduction, on Flickr CC BY 2.0
Lorenzo and Katara, mine
IMG_5772 pillow fort installation by libbyrosof, on Flickr  CC BY 2.0

Categories: Tuesday Toss-Up | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “How to Have a Good Sick Day

  1. I don’t have any little furries, but I do enjoy a good sick day, as much as it’s possible to enjoy one. I hope you’re on the mend now.

  2. “Circling the drain,” huh? I had never heard that expression before, and am not entirely sure what it means – although I’m fairly certain it isn’t pretty! :)
    I hope you’re feeling better, Sonia. I’m sorry to hear you’ve been ill.
    For me, if I’m knocked down, it typically means my allergies have kicked in. When that happens post nasal drip kicks in and does it’s best to choke me. Yuck! If it’s that bad that I have to stay home, I usually catch up on watching new movies or old classics.
    Feel better!

    -Jimmy

What's on your mind?

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

