And the Writer Said, Let there be Blogs (and a ROW80 Check-In)

blog fatigue: (blawg fuh-teeg) noun

  1.  the condition of being overwhelmed by one’s blog and/or the number of blogs to read, often characterized by an avoidance of blogging related activities and a loss of the pleasure previously associated with those activities

Ill-GottenLast week, we discussed whether or not an epidemic blog fatigue was on the horizon. The consensus seemed to be that the risk of blog fatigue has indeed sky-rocketed but it doesn’t have to take any of us down.

Blogging and social media gives writers the opportunity to connect with a vast number of other writers, to see  we are not alone wherever we are on the writer’s journey and that encouraging and supporting others builds us up too, and to reach readers who will (hopefully) fall in love with our work. But it can also add to an already miles-long daily todo list. Sometimes the blogging, commenting, replying, following and social media reciprocation can become ends in themselves…which can lead to us shunting aside our writing goals in favor of social media activity and/or a severe case of blog fatigue.

We have to remember why we blog: to grow as a writer and to build our authorI am really happy! platforms. We have to balance the demands of blogging with the needs of our writing, remembering that, without excellent stories/books, we’ll have little to share with readers.

Are you worried about blog fatigue? Fear not, blog fatigue is both preventable and curable. Here are some resources (a big thank you to Juliana Haygert for kindly suggesting many of the following links):

Remember, friends don’t let friends get blog fatigue.

Got any thoughts on the whole blog fatigue issue? Any great links to share?

***

And now for news on the ROW8O front…

ROW8O Check-In for 10/19/11

Last week was pretty successful. Still a few misses but I think they’re showing me where I need to adjust my goals. Here’s where I’m at:

  • Work on MIP tasks 5 days/week: Did 4 days.
  • Write Morning Pages 5 days/week: Met this one.
  • Exercise for a minimum 5-10 minutes at a time, 5 days/week: Worked out 4 days for an average of 10 minutes each time. Not the full 5 days I planned on but still up from 3 days the week before.
  • Update ROW8O page for the new round: *ahem* I’m a bit embarrassed about this one because I still haven’t updated the page. *blush*
  • Have each blogging day’s posts ready 2 days in advance: Have been mostly able to get the posts ready 1 day in advance.
  • Finish 45 Master Characters and/or How I Write: Finished How I Write.
  • Restart George R.R. Martin’s Clash of Kings: Restarted and finished.
  • Visit Twitter 2-3x daily: Mostly visiting Twitter 1-2x daily.
  • Visit Facebook at least 6x/week: Having a very easy time meeting this one.

Where I’m headed for this week:

  • Work on MIP tasks 4 days/week: This seems to be what fits my schedule the best so I’m going to go with it.
  • Exercise for a minimum 5-10 minutes at a time, 5 days/week.
  • Update ROW8O page for the new round: This is at the top of my list!
  • Have each blogging day’s posts ready at least 1 day in advance: I’d rather have the post ready and schedule much earlier but even one day early takes the pressure off.
  • Finish 45 Master Characters.
  • Read at least 1/3 of the way through George R.R. Martin’s Clash of Kings.
  • Visit Twitter 1-2x daily: This just works better with my schedule.
  • Start 1 piece of short fiction.
  • Write 2 new scenes for MIP.

Find other ROW8O folk to cheer on here.

How was your last week? What’s the plan for this week?

***

I’ve planned a new blogging schedule. Tuesdays are now Parallel Tuesdays, the home of all things science-fiction/fantasy, and the Tuesday Toss-Up, for when there’s something random or other than sci fi/fantasy to share. Thursdays are now Killer Thursday, for all your horror, suspense, and thriller needs. I’ll also be checking in for ROW8O every Wednesday.

Stay tuned for more zombie-type fun coming up on Killer Thursday!

Photo Credit (in order of appearance):
Ill-Gotten by JD Hancock, on Flickr CC BY 2.0
I am really happy! by Kalexanderson, on Flickr CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Categories: ROW80 Check Ins, Tuesday Toss-Up | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 27 Comments

Post navigation

27 thoughts on “And the Writer Said, Let there be Blogs (and a ROW80 Check-In)

  1. Love the title of your blog. I’m a little overwhelmed with blogging and social media, but I’ve gotten into a rythymn and tonight I think will be a non-internet night. Maybe some writing and reading.

    You accomplished A LOT so far and the week is only half done!

  2. Oh, thank you for mentioning moi ;)
    As for your ROW80 goals, you’re doing very well, I see.
    Have a great rest of week!

  3. Sonia, I love that you’re opening up about this. I think it’s a topic people are plagued with but are afraid to say anything about, lest we lose our precious number of followers. It’s a vicious cycle.

    Something that occurred to me is a slightly different angle on the point you’re making — when our social media friends suddenly can’t keep up with OUR blogs every waking moment, retweet our Twitter links, and/or comment on every post, we, the blogger, must not get saddened or freaked out. When people “go dark” on my blog and then reappear to show some love every few weeks, I understand that they’re going through the same thing as me — responsibly manage their social media overload. If we’re going to go through this, we have to give others the room to cut back on our stuff, too. Experienced bloggers stress how it’s not healthy to live and die by our numbers. That’s good advice.

    My two cents! ;)

  4. Great post – a topic I’m surprised I haven’t seen being discussed more amongst the writing community on here. It can be overwhelming, this balancing act we call marketing and actual writing…and to add blogging to the mix? A lot of people stumble…but it’s all in how we approach the process.

    Good links, too, by the by – and best of luck on your ROW80 goals; looks like you’re making solid progress already.

  5. Great modification of your goals as needed and keeping up with them Sonia! Also, bring on more zombie fun. :-)

  6. Ryan King

    “Remember, friends don’t let friends get blog fatigue.” – I love this.

  7. Thank you once again, Sonia, for your frequent, timely and pertinent blogs. I so envy your dedication! Personally, after 5 or 6 months I have not yet scaled the learning curve to effectiveness in all levels of blogging
    you mentioned. As a matter of fact, I’ve given up blogging on a couple of occasions out of sheer frustration, not over the posting of my content, but at the other end: connectivity with all the other fine blogs and bloggers out there. I need to explain. I can’t count on my ten fingers and eleven toes (just seeing if you’re paying attention!) the number of times I’ve spent valuable hours commenting on blogs that truly moved me, only to have the comment box empty itself when I push the “post comment” button. I must say I never have this problem with WordPress, probably because they consider me family and trust me. But, imagine spending twenty minutes on a really thoughtful comment, push “post”, receive a seemingly kind and innocent enough request to “sign in” and when you enter what you believe is the correct information you get a message such as “invalid user” and *POOF* your message is erased! It happened just last night with a marvelous post, Peggy Bechko: Adding that Novel Punch.* I thought the advice was sterling and wanted to let her know. After three attempts, all I can say is it’s floating around the ethers somewhere in cyberspace.
    But those are my demons, not yours, and I hope to master them before I throw up my hands and my laptop across the room.
    *I tried to hyperlink Peggy’s blog here, but if it didn’t take (yes, I’m no teckky) at least you’ll know where to find it.

    • That is frustrating. I’ve had that a few times when commenting on Blogger/Blogspot. Something goes wonky and the comment disappears or I have to login again. Sometimes the comment is send to the “approve” que and you have to wait for it to be approved before it shows up.

  8. And, as you can plainly see… it didn’t take, lol.
    Jay

  9. Sonia, I love the new theme days that you have planned! These all sound like a lot of fun. Congrats on meeting most of your goals, and thanks for bringing up this “blog fatigue syndrome.” I’ve taken some time off from regularly blogging in order to retool my approach and to try and build up a queue of posts, so I definitely understand this idea of blog fatigue. I think my goal is to find a way to make my writing and my blogging work for each other, so I don’t feel like I’m spreading myself too thin.

  10. Thanks for the link! And unfortunately this pressure for number isn’t going away. I think I have another rant post in mind for tomorrow. *sigh*

    • I heard a couple more discouraging bits over the last week too. I’m amazed that some seemingly knowledgable folk are so convinced that building an author platform with social media is so hopeless.

  11. Excellent points! Blogging is not the big picture- beautiful manuscripts are!

    What I do love about blogging is that it gives me a chance to quiet all the concerns that I may be challenged with, and I pray someone else is ministered to as well.

  12. Great job, Sonia! You’ve got a ton of goals to accomplish, so kudos to you. I really enjoyed your post on blog fatigue, and you’re right: we’ve got to remember why we do it. Getting bogged down in numbers affects the quality and our sanity.

  13. Good job with your goals this week. I haven’t suffered from serious blogging fatique yet but it does get overwhelming at times to keep up with reading/commenting on other blogs. Sometimes you need to take a breather from it and focus on what’s important — writing.

  14. Looks like you are doing really well on most of your goals, and considering how much there is for you to do, that is great! A few of those things, like updating the ROW80 page, will not take you long. Just try to squeeze it in when you get a moment. No excuses! I’ll be watching for this. You have until Sunday and the clock is ticking…

    As for blog fatigue, I don’t have it so much on writing my blog since I’m not one to post everyday (that is way too much for me), but it can be hard to keep up with all the blogs I follow. Sometimes I feel bad for not commenting on them all, but it just isn’t always possible time-wise. If I can even get to half of them, I’m happy! Twitter only happens once or twice a wee. It is a complete time-suck as I have a hard time leaving once I get on there.

  15. Oh yeah, blog fatigue is a real killjoy. Had it a couple of times. I just stop writing and reading for a couple of days, and that seems to help.

  16. Thanks so much for linking to my posts. And love the sound of your new theme days! :)

  17. Great blog, Sonia! I post once a week, which is manageable for me. I generally read other blogs on Wednesdays and weekends so I look forward to it, rather than despising that activity for taking away from my writing. The day job has been quite demanding lately and I haven’t written as much as you this week, but I’m confident I’ll make up for it soon. My writing ebbs and flows…

  18. Jess Witkins

    I’m so glad you brought blog fatigue to light for us. Great links to combat it and understand it. There are so many perspectives around it. Honestly, I think I’d do it whether it was successful or not because the community alone makes it worthwhile. I wouldn’t have the support to keep going or the feedback without friends I’ve made blogging and groups like Life List Club, MyWANA, and WWBC.

    Congrats on your successes this week!

  19. Thank you all so much for your comments! This kind of stuff is the reason I keep blogging. The community is such a tremendous way for us all to grow and learn and support eachother. That is just as important to our careers as finding readers for our future novels.

  20. Some well-defined and specific goals. (I loved your guest post on Nolan’s ROW80 page this week, and I’m seeing a theme with your perfect Star Wars lego pics!)

    I do worry about blog fatigue. I love the writing community, and I’m new to it (and have figured out I need it), so I tend to get caught up in it and lose sight of my WIP. I’ll figure out the balance, but sure am glad for the community! ROW 80 rocks!

    • Thanks! I do love those lego and stormtrooper pics. :D

      It’s easy to lose your balance, especially when blogging’s new or when it really starts to take off. I definitely started losing track of my MIP. It’s helped to set limits and specific goals with the blogging. I love blogging though. I’ve learned so much and found so many other fabulous people. Definitely worth it!

  21. Pingback: ROW80 checking in for the 6th time! whoot! | Day in the life of a Busy Gal…

  22. Pingback: Your Health! « Kate Wood's Blog

What's on your mind?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 433 other followers

