The Zombies are Coming!

It’s that time of year again.

That’s right. The season 2 premiere of AMC’s The Walking Dead is just around the corner. From the gut-wrenching opening scene to the explosive finale, the first season sank its rotting teeth into us and held on tight. And, on October 16, they’re baaaaaack.

Are you ready for the zombie-love? To get in the undead spirit, here are some bits and pieces of zombie fun.

‘Cause, you know, zombies are always leaving bits and pieces lying around.

First, some tunes to get your feet tapping:

Ever wonder what you’d look like as a zombie? Need a picture to help your relatives identify you…just in case? Check out this Facebook app.

Who’s catering this apocalypse?

Is there really a coming Zombie Apocalypse and can we do anything to prepare for it? That stalwart organization, Zombie Research Society, says “duh” and “hell yes.” Check out their website for the latest research and news.

And, remember, May is Zombie awareness month.

If a horde of hungry zombies is shambling your way, should you head to the mall or an old abandoned farm-house? Which is the best hiding place

What’s the history of the cinematic history of the zombie? Check out this great article to find out.

What’s your zombie-movie IQ? Here are a few zombie flicks to get you started.

  • White Zombie (1932) – Staring Bela Lugosi, this may be the first zombie movie ever.
  • Night of the Living Dead (1968) – George A. Romero‘s cult classic and the genesis of the modern zombie movie. 
  • Dawn of the Dead (1978) – Another cult classic by Romero, sequel to Night. Boasts one of the scariest movie lines of all-time, “When there’s no more room in hell, the dead will walk the earth.”
  • Dawn of the Dead (2004) – Zach Snyder‘s remake of the classic.
  • Evil Dead (1982) – Is there any other kind? Just remember, if you find a weird book bound in human skin, for all that is holy, do NOT read it out loud.
  • Day of the Dead (1985) – Third in the Romero series. With all these sequels, I want to know where the prequel is…Twilight of the Living Dead.
  • Return of the Living Dead (1985) – Not one of the Romero series, it was written and directed by Dan O’Bannon and spawned a brood of its own sequels.
  • 28 Days Later (2002) – There seems to be a great deal of controversy over whether this actually qualifies as a zombie movie but many see it as an evolution of the zombie genre.
  • Resident Evil (2002) – Inspired by the video game series and has that kick-butt, zombie slayer chick Alice, played by Milla Jovovich.
  • Shaun of the Dead (2004) – Billed as a romantic zombie comedy and directed by Edgar Wright. I’m not so sure I’d find it funny if a zombie got romantic with me though.
  • I Am Legend (2007) – This probably falls into the same controversial category as 28 Days Later but, hey, Will Smith. Enough said.
  • Zombieland (2009) – Maybe the funniest zombie flick ever.
  • The Crazies (2010) – Yet another flick that fits into the rogue-virus-turns-humans-into-near-mindless-cannibals-but-might-not-be-a-zombie-film-because-the-aforementioned-folks-aren’t-dead category.

And now you get to vote. What is the best zombie film of all time? What’s the worst? Vote below.

Note: I’ve put all the films above in both voting boxes for the sake of fairness. Plus, if you don’t see the film you want to vote for, you can write it in. Happy voting!

Are you a fan of The Walking Dead show? What do you think will happen this season? Any favorite zombie sites or lore to share?

Categories: Killer Thursdays | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “The Zombies are Coming!

  1. I love Zombie movies! :D Call me cooky.. I just do. There are so many great ones! And ya know… (being super crazy here). .. when I go for my daily walk in the park, I look around for places to go when the “Zombie Invasion” begins. And yeah, it’s coming. Got my place picked out I think!

    Great post, Sonia!

    Darlene

  2. I think I saw bits Dawn of the Dead at a friend’s house when I was really little and I had so many nightmares! I’m too wimpy for zombie stuff.

  3. @Darlene: Zombies used to scare the pee out of me. *Ahem* my teenage uncles made me watch Dawn of the Dead when I was 9 or so. Thank you, boys. I’ve since gotten over that though. Now I love ‘em. Especially The Walking Dead. Plus, zombies are all rich in symbolism and such.

    @Lydia: The first time I watched Dawn of the Dead, it scared me so bad that I couldn’t watch it again for more than 20 years. LOL. But now I can appreciate the genre…only during the day though. :D

  4. Pingback: Classic 80′s Horror Movies – Watch Them Again. | The Great 80's

  5. Love this post Sonia! I heart all things zombie. I’ve seen all the movies you listed save the 1932 one. Like Darlene, I’ve thought through some survival plans. What? Doesn’t everyone do that? ;-)

    I’m happy Walking Dead is finally back. That is a true to life story that shows how terror brings out the base self of humans, and sometimes that is ugly.

  6. Jess Witkins

    I loves me some Walking Dead. I can’t wait til Sunday night; I’ll be tuning in with you. I saw the preview clips and interviews on TV when I was watching Vampire Diaries and it looks like the cast and crew have been hard at work creating more deadly zombies and developing their characters. Wouldn’t it be so much fun to play a zombie on that show?! I can just envision you with your leg bone inside a lone Chuck Taylor. You look awesome!

  7. The Walking Dead finally came out on Canadian Netflix and it took me all of two evenings to watch the first season. I hope the next season is going to be as good.

    As for other movies, I always liked 28 Days Later. I thought they did a good job of respinning zombies so that they could run at full human speed and be brought down by non-head-related injuries.

  8. I liked The Walking Dead but didn’t follow is because I knew I was going to be upset as people were killed/zomified, lol. And you know what movie out of that list I really hated? 28 Days Later. That movie was just … no.

    Fun post!

  9. Pingback: Blog Treasures 10-15 « Gene Lempp's Blog

  10. Pingback: Sharing is Caring: My Weekly Finds | Barbara McDowell's Blog

  11. Pingback: The Walking Dead: Best Commercial Free Zombie TV « Jess Witkins' Wicked Blog

  12. I have to save my zombie movies for nights when Mrs Dim is AWOL. I had “Resident Evil” on my phone, watching it in five minute segments here and there. But never at work. Oh no, honest, Boss, I never, ever did that….

    Oh, and “The Walking Dead” is very cool. I downloaded the first episode through iTunes and it still looked good.

  13. @Barbara: A survival plan is always good to have. You just never know. :D

    @Jess: I’m with you. It’d be so fun to have a stagger-on part in that show. The make up is awesome. The show is amazing mostly for the characters and their story though. But the zombies are so scary. *Shudder*

    @Walkingthepattern: I think you’re right. 28 Days Later reimagined the zombie. In a way, it’s more plausible than the dead-get-up-and-walk kind. Perhaps it’s more scary for that.

    @Stacy: It is so hard to see characters you love get whacked. *cough cough* Game of Thrones. :D The storyline of Walking Dead is really compelling though. To see how regular people would fight to survive and deal with the overwhelming odds against them. I wish I’d thought of it. :D

    @Damien: My hubby’s not into horror either. I keep trying to talk him into watching Walking Dead because it’s so much more than a horror story. Maybe one of these days. LOL

  14. Sonia, I’m not really a big fan of Zombie films and of the films listed above I’ve only watched 2.5 -and both you’ve classified as not your regular zombie film! (28 Days Later & I Am Legend) :) the .5 is Resident Evil. My vote went to 28 Days Later -purely for the fact that I could watch it without going ‘as expected’ as it certainly was different from the other zombie films -and it made laugh in places (love black humour!). So, I’m not the best person to ask about zombie films but then again I don’t mind sharing my thoughts when the topic crops up. :)

  15. I have to add -it was weird to see a zombie film set in London which also piqued my interest, so maybe it also got a vote due to location and setting ;)

  16. I’m biased like that! *not to myself: read before hitting the submit/publish button!’

  17. I’ve never been a huge zombie-movie fan (for some reason they just didn’t give me that creepy thrill), but I am HOOKED on The Walking Dead. I think one of the reasons is that it is so hard to predict what will happen between the living characters – things are coming to a head between Rick, Lori and Shane, but what the outcome will be is anyone’s guess!

  18. Tough to pick the best in that group, but how is anything better that Night of the Living Dead? I’d say Evil Dead is a close second. And now I have to urge to watch them all. Yay for owning the DVDs!

What's on your mind?

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 437 other followers

